Amplitube 4 Plugin not showing up in Ableton 9.5

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
DrTroutHair
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 2:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Amplitube 4 Plugin not showing up in Ableton 9.5

Post by DrTroutHair » Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:37 pm

Weird. Just upgraded to 9.5. Also just upgraded from Amplitube 3 to 4.
Everything is fine on my laptop. However on my tower Amp 4 is not showing up in the plugins folder.
I've checked the library and the Amp 4 files are all there in the VST and Audio folders as well as the Amp 3 files.
I've also 're-scanned' for Plugins and tried linking up using the Custom Folder
Amplitube 4 works perfectly well as a standalone.

My next move is to completely remove Amp 4 from the machine and replace, but thought I'd chuck it out to the forum first.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2698
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Amplitube 4 Plugin not showing up in Ableton 9.5

Post by [jur] » Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:36 pm

32/64 bit issue?
Ableton Forum Moderator

mrgrim3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:04 am

Re: Amplitube 4 Plugin not showing up in Ableton 9.5

Post by mrgrim3 » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:09 am

I had a similar problem but with padshop and retrolouge Steinberg vst

it turned out being I needed to reinstall live 9.5 clean after I updated somehow things got messed up or I deleted something

but after I installed live again it all showed back up

DrTroutHair
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 2:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Amplitube 4 Plugin not showing up in Ableton 9.5

Post by DrTroutHair » Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:41 am

[jur] - thanks for your thoughts - you might have something there. I'll check that later.

mrgrim3 - would rather not clean off 9.5 but I've a feeling that is where the problem lies, rather than Amplitube. If not [jur] then I'll uninstall/install.

Will let you folks know how I get on. Thanks again for taking the time to post your thought.

XSIMan
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Amplitube 4 Plugin not showing up in Ableton 9.5

Post by XSIMan » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:50 pm

Makesure you install the VST 2 version of Amplitube, Ableton Live 9 can't open VST 3. Amplitube 4 is 64bit only so check if you installed the 64bit version of Live.

Something that normally finds missing plugins is. Go to the options in Live and hold down Alt keep it pressed and click rescan plugins folder.
This will force Live to do a full rescan instead of just scanning for new plugins.

DrTroutHair
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 2:02 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: Amplitube 4 Plugin not showing up in Ableton 9.5

Post by DrTroutHair » Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:49 pm

Problem solved!
[jur] & XSIMan - Spot on.
I'd downloaded the 32bit version of Ableton 9.5.
After downloading and installing the 64bit version Amplitube 4 is now available as a Plugin.
(Apart from my Waves plugins now disappearing but I don't use them so I'll cross that bridge at another point.)

Thanks for taking the time out to point the error of my ways.
Much appreciated.

Post Reply