Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
marctaule
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:59 am

Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by marctaule » Mon May 08, 2017 11:00 am

I have a song with 6 tracks and each track comes out through an external output.
I don't use the master channel.
I would like to add an auto filter to the whole song but I do not know how to do it with push 2.
can anybody help me?

timday
Posts: 557
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by timday » Mon May 08, 2017 1:21 pm

If it's 6 outputs you'd need to add the filter to each output group or bus as the audio presumably does not share a channel at any point. If you want to control them all together I think you'd have to map using MIDI learn, or find or build a Max device that would control several channels from one device.

This would apply with or without Push 2

Unless I've misunderstood what you're asking

TomKern
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by TomKern » Mon May 08, 2017 1:24 pm

Or use it on a send. (you'd need one more ext out for the return channel of course)

marctaule
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by marctaule » Mon May 08, 2017 1:57 pm

Thanks for your answers.

Timday if I use a send I don't know how to send this send to the external output...

Tomkern, you understood me, it's ok what you said. I'd like to control all the filter track's together. Maybe I'll have to find a Max device...

TomKern
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by TomKern » Mon May 08, 2017 3:11 pm

marctaule wrote:Thanks for your answers.

Timday if I use a send I don't know how to send this send to the external output...

Tomkern, you understood me, it's ok what you said. I'd like to control all the filter track's together. Maybe I'll have to find a Max device...
I think you mixed up me and timday 8)

Btw, each return track also has an "audio to" menu that you can use to route the output anywhere you like. You can also route all of the returns to one audio track in Live and then use that to output it to your external mixing board.

marctaule
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by marctaule » Mon May 08, 2017 3:25 pm

Hi TomKern,

I see the "audio to" in the return track, but I don't know how to do it :(
I attach an image, if you can help me.

Thanks!

Image

TomKern
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by TomKern » Mon May 08, 2017 4:01 pm

Well you will have to click on that Audio To menu, and choose Ext Out :wink:

marctaule
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by marctaule » Mon May 08, 2017 4:05 pm

yes, but where I have to click? Because if I click on Master, the filter goes to master output. I need that the filter affects to each individual tracks. Do you know what I mean? It's difficult to explain it for me in english hehe :oops:

TomKern
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by TomKern » Mon May 08, 2017 4:57 pm

:?
Not sure where the confusion lies.
In your picture you have already opened the Audio Out menu of the Autofilter return.
Right now "Master" is selected. You need to choose the option two slots above that where it says "Ext. Out"

Once you do the sub menu on this return will get active and you can choose which Ext. Out of your sound card you want to assign.

As to how you assign your six tracks to the Autofilter return: you use the Send dials on each of them.

marctaule
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by marctaule » Mon May 08, 2017 5:29 pm

Thanx for all your answers. I appreciate.
The point is I need it for a live session, keeping the 6 outputs to send it to the sound technician. Otherwise, through the master option I would only have L and R outputs to send to the sound technician, and then the technician can't do anything, so I don't want to do that.
The return option doesn't allow me to choose all the tracks at the same time to apply the same filter.
I've got a solution through the MIDI MAP (giving a filter to each track, mapping all frequencies and resonances by the knobs) but that means using the "user mode" on PUSH2, which is annoying.
Sorry, it's not easy to explain what I am searching.
Cheers

TomKern
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by TomKern » Mon May 08, 2017 5:48 pm

marctaule wrote: The return option doesn't allow me to choose all the tracks at the same time to apply the same filter.
sure it does

yur2die4
Posts: 6477
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by yur2die4 » Mon May 08, 2017 7:27 pm

You can't use one single filter to filter 6 channels at once that are intended to be controlled seperately. If you ran all sounds through one filter they would be combined and then there would be no control over individual channels from the mixing person.

If you do get filters on all channels, you'll need a device which allows you to map all of their freq and res functions to a single control for each of those parameters.

This can probably be done with midi mapping of sorts or max or even Clyphx (have a rack for each inside of a rack that controls all at once).

But then comes the whole factor of how you want to control them with a controller. Push would require that you jump to the channel that controls all these. Which wouldn't be that difficult but could be mildly cumbersome. It might be easiest to have a small, cheap, midi controller off to the side that has all the filters mapped to it so you can use the Push to focus on bigger-better things.

marctaule
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by marctaule » Tue May 09, 2017 6:45 am

yur2die4 wrote:You can't use one single filter to filter 6 channels at once that are intended to be controlled seperately. If you ran all sounds through one filter they would be combined and then there would be no control over individual channels from the mixing person.

If you do get filters on all channels, you'll need a device which allows you to map all of their freq and res functions to a single control for each of those parameters.

This can probably be done with midi mapping of sorts or max or even Clyphx (have a rack for each inside of a rack that controls all at once).

But then comes the whole factor of how you want to control them with a controller. Push would require that you jump to the channel that controls all these. Which wouldn't be that difficult but could be mildly cumbersome. It might be easiest to have a small, cheap, midi controller off to the side that has all the filters mapped to it so you can use the Push to focus on bigger-better things.

Hi yur2die4!
Thanks for your answer. This is what I imagined! :)
I think that the best option is buy a small midi controller as you said. Do you know anyone?
Thank you again!

antic604
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:14 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by antic604 » Tue May 09, 2017 7:15 am

TomKern wrote::?
Not sure where the confusion lies.
In your picture you have already opened the Audio Out menu of the Autofilter return.
Right now "Master" is selected. You need to choose the option two slots above that where it says "Ext. Out"

Once you do the sub menu on this return will get active and you can choose which Ext. Out of your sound card you want to assign.

As to how you assign your six tracks to the Autofilter return: you use the Send dials on each of them.
He specifically said he needs to output to SIX SEPARATE external outputs.

I'm afraid it can't be done differently, than putting an instance of Auto Filter on each track and mapping all of them to the same knob / slider on MIDI controller. With six tracks it shouldn't be a lot of work.

antic604
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:14 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Apply autofliter in a whole song with 6 external outputs

Post by antic604 » Tue May 09, 2017 7:18 am

yur2die4 wrote:If you do get filters on all channels, you'll need a device which allows you to map all of their freq and res functions to a single control for each of those parameters.

This can probably be done with midi mapping of sorts or max or even Clyphx (have a rack for each inside of a rack that controls all at once).
I'm not using Push, but can't you simply 'ignore' the native script and map one of the knobs to the filter parameters, using the "Lock to surface" option - like so:

Image

Post Reply