Ableton 10 Feature Request

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
LOYBOY
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:35 pm

Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by LOYBOY » Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:09 pm

It would be really great if we could right-click on any of the rulers in ableton and select other options. The specific thing that is slowing down my workflow is that I am in the Audio Clip View Zoomed in and working through long clips up close and I have no idea where I am in the arrangement. I would be awesome to be able to view the arrangement ruler in the clip area instead of just the clip ruler. If i accidentally bump spacebar or something I can easily lose my place when I'm working, it's very frustrating. Logic lets you select any ruler you want in any area.... time, beats, arrangement, clip... etc. You can even select different frame rates on the ruler in case you're working with film. Hoping this will appear in live 10 soon. Thanks!

Full-time Producer in Florida.

chris vine
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:01 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by chris vine » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:15 pm

32 bit bridge please or no upgrade, methinks

mkotechno
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:11 pm

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by mkotechno » Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:06 pm

Play a range of selected scenes sequencially, in Push selecting the range of scenes could be done by pressing the starting and ending scene at the same time, ala Maschine.

A scene is as long as is longer clip.

That would allow to make complete songs easier in scenes mode.

Being able to export that way from scenes without the need of arrangement would be the icing on the cake.

macgregoroi
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:48 am

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by macgregoroi » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:07 am

Bitwig's modulation system makes Ableton totally obsolete.

If Ableton had a modulation system that was similar to Bitwig's I would "consider" switching back.

If Ableton had sandbox plugin processing and 32bit plugin bridge and a modulation system equal to Bitwig's I would switch back instantly.

Yassinex
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:27 pm

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by Yassinex » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:03 pm

COMPING please !

Roodegar
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by Roodegar » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:44 pm

MPE support please.

CH7
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by CH7 » Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:17 am

A/ I would like to see a way to have more than one Live project open, so you can copy paste between those projects.

I think the new Capture feature will be a quiet 'game changer'. I can see this one feature as the default mode for live artists. As reviewed, it seems the first Capture would set the bpm for all other Captures.

B/ I would like to see a preference setting to lock to bpm, or unlock from bpm when using capture. This could be accessible to cc control. This would allow live experiments with different tempo settings. Imagine a period of improvisation, then that last phrase is captured and looped in real time.

C/ also, those events destined for Capture could go into a shared clipboard, for recalled by other instances of Live. This assumes A/ can not be implemented.

Note, other instances of Live would need to share the same audio preferences without program conflicts, eg 'resources already in use by Live'

D/ Finally, assuming this hasn't already been implemented, a way to review and save events currently stored / auto saved / as preCaptured events.

Tarekith
Posts: 17633
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by Tarekith » Sun Nov 19, 2017 3:57 pm

If you are currently testing Live please submit these as suggestions on centercode. Do a search first to see if someone else has already done this and upvote theirs.

https://ableton.centercode.com/

AbletonUser~ $1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:18 am

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by AbletonUser~ $1 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:40 am

Hi Abletonians, could we add a feature to the Glue Comp so i can Use the Makeup pre threshold instead of post threshold,thx .Also i wonder what the grain delay spray would sound like @ 2 seconds or 5 seconds or EVEN 10 SECONDS :lol: <3

nomadjames
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:32 pm

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by nomadjames » Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:57 pm

I would like to be able to select certain Plug In windows so that selected ones would always float, while everything else still changed with the selected track.

Tarekith
Posts: 17633
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by Tarekith » Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:41 pm

I want the ability to select a preferred audio device. If my DAC is connected, always use that. If it's not, default to the onboard soundcard. Once i get back in the studio and plug in the DAC, I want it to reselect that as the audio device.

yurki
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by yurki » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:36 pm

Infinite collections.

Just 7 is really hard to use, you can only pick them for one type of thing: samples, plugins, presets...

And if you would use them for samples, for example, you easily are within your limits too: low sounds, mid sounds, high sounds, melodic, rhythmic, noise, tonal, harmonic, fat, thin, freesound.org, sample libraries, own recordings, 1 star, 2 stars, 3 stars, 4 stars, 5 stars, etc, etc

I really hope this will come because it has so much potential....But now I don't use it because it's just too limited.

cjuggernaut
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:30 am

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by cjuggernaut » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:34 am


Grummy
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:00 am

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by Grummy » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:40 pm

As always, support for audio files with more than two channels for surround work.

and for the Push2 - the ability to make custom banks for plugins. Sometimes on devices it makes more sense to have a bank of six encoders for parameters and then scroll to the next bank. For example having a bank of six for two ADRs on a synth, with two empty encoders. Then scroll to the next bank for just the filter parameters. Rather than have everything just strictly in order as you configure plugin parameters. For optimized Push2/plugin integration.

pleaseaddthis
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:44 pm

Re: Ableton 10 Feature Request

Post by pleaseaddthis » Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:05 pm

LOW LATENCY MODE !
LOW LATENCY MODE !!!!
LOW LATENCY MODE !!!!!!!


#1 we need low latency mode like logic pro x. in ableton this is a huge problem for recording midi and ESPECIALLY for recording audio. currently we mighta as well not even bother recording audio in ableton.

this is the main feature that logic pro x has that ableton desperately needs. we need this feature to turn on, play midi without latency, and then reenable the plugins causing the latency. logic pro x does this by having the feature disable plugins and things that would cause latency. thus things might sound off while playing but thats okay because once you turn off low latency mode everything re enables.

this is a huge problem for recording midi and ESPECIALLY for recording audio. currently we mighta as well not even bother recording audio in ableton.

#2 another feature that would be amazing would be adding a take folder system to recording audio tracks just like logic pro x. this feature makes recording and comping takes super easy by letting you loop a few bars, then just collecting each recording pass into a folder that can be opened like a dropdown menu and the parts we want to keep can be swiped and spliced together, creating a master comp on top.


as a professional power user that uses multiple daws, these 2 features are the biggest reasons i cant just completely ditch logic pro x and move fully to ableton. ableton is superior in every other way, but these few problems make me unfortunately have to use logic pro x in certain sessions, like music writing creative sessions and such where I need to be able to let a musician jam out a vocal or a midi part and bust out quick demos. if we could get at least just a low latency mode, it would allow us to use abletons MUCH more powerful loop and drum system in creative writing sessions, but currently i cant load up any sort of demo session template because the fx and sounds cause latency that cant be toggled on and off when recording like we can in logic pro x because of low latency mode.

PLEASE ADD THIS SO WE CAN FINALLY DITCH THAT TRASH DAW LOGIC PRO FOREVER!!!

Post Reply