Can I just "update" Live 9 to Live 10 without fresh install?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
SpeedKing
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:51 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Can I just "update" Live 9 to Live 10 without fresh install?

Post by SpeedKing » Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:14 pm

Does anyone know if, for installation of Live 10, you'll have to completely re-install the program, then install eeeevery VST, pack, etc. separately as if it were a fresh install of Ableton? Or will there be some sort of "update" install, where Ableton just updates to Live 10 if you have Live 9?

Please tell me it's the latter, because I have so much stuff, a fresh Ableton install takes like 4-5 hours before all packs, VSTs and other programs are installed/linked.

Tarekith
Posts: 17671
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Can I just "update" Live 9 to Live 10 without fresh install?

Post by Tarekith » Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:25 pm

You'll probably have to download the installer seperately, but you won't have to reinstall all your packs and what not. Should be no different from installing an update for version 9 on that front.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering

Post Reply