Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
andy_blank
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:32 pm

Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by andy_blank » Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:36 pm

Hi,

Each time I am changing a sound preset in a VST Instrument, it takes multiple seconds when my Push 2 is connected.
My guess is that this is because Push tries to figure out parameter mappings from scratch each time I change a sound preset, for example with NI's Massiv.

Did anybody encounter a similar problem?


Best,

Andy

scheffkoch
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by scheffkoch » Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:51 am

...no problems here...
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

Lovelights
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:09 pm

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by Lovelights » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:25 pm


scheffkoch
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by scheffkoch » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:53 pm

...sorry...i respect your work but why should your racks be the solution to this topic?...
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

scheffkoch
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by scheffkoch » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:59 pm

@andy: for changing presets i nowadays use program changes...you can create a program list within massive and then use this http://maxforlive.com/library/index.php ... sh+program to flip through presets...
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

Mark Williams
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by Mark Williams » Mon Aug 27, 2018 3:04 pm

scheffkoch wrote:...sorry...i respect your work but why should your racks be the solution to this topic?...
Coz he trying to sell them :)
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, Novation Peak, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

Lovelights
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:09 pm

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by Lovelights » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:25 pm

I sincerly thought it would help, and i always give away for free too, the money i earn is close to zero by the way.
If the poster wants to change the speed in Push changing preset in for example Massive, i can provide the help he need, for free.
Last edited by Lovelights on Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

scheffkoch
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by scheffkoch » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:31 pm

...but it's not about the way you change presets...it seems something is wrong because changing presets causes ableton/the plugin to lag...
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

Mark Williams
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by Mark Williams » Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:49 pm

Depends on the plugin Im guessing, maybe he is using a VST that is heavily sample based, so is changing samples at same time. The loading would cause a slight lag unless using SSD drive.
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, Novation Peak, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

cannibal000
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:38 pm

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by cannibal000 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:27 pm

Changing patches can take 30 seconds and more for me - which makes it barely usable (extreme cases are Arturia plug-ins, both AU and VST). It's on an iMacPro so it's not a pc speed problem.

Anything one can do about it?

jestermgee
Posts: 3134
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Changing a present in a VST Instrument slow due to Push 2

Post by jestermgee » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:32 pm

cannibal000 wrote:Changing patches can take 30 seconds and more for me - which makes it barely usable (extreme cases are Arturia plug-ins, both AU and VST). It's on an iMacPro so it's not a pc speed problem.

Anything one can do about it?
What VSTs specifically and which presets are you switching presets for and is it running from SSD or HDD?

Do you have the same issue as the OP where it is faster without Push connected?

I personally now use Komplete Kontrol for preset management for VSTs as it is way faster to find sounds and has the sound preview feature but I have not noticed any difference in the time a preset takes to load either in Komplete Kontrol or straight on a track with or without Push connected. I'd be happy to do some tests to compare results with some details to test with:

- Plugin in question
- Preset being loaded
- If VST library is on SSD or HD
- Time it takes to load with Push connected and without
- Live version
- PC specs (CPU model and speed, Ram, HDD/SSD)
- Anything else deemed useful info.

Post Reply