4m USB cable

Come here to discuss Push with other users.
For tech support, please head to http://www.ableton.com/help
Post Reply
raybies
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:31 am

4m USB cable

Post by raybies » Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:34 am

Hi.

Has anyone found a long USB cable which works w/ a Push 2?
I tried:
a 3m extension, but it won't work unless the PSU is plugged in.
a 4.4m USB cable, but that didn't work at all, well the power button lit but that's it.

Thanks

jestermgee
Posts: 3207
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: 4m USB cable

Post by jestermgee » Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:29 pm

I'd say based on the power needs of Push you would not be powering it over a 3m+ cable at all, you would need the power supply.
Last edited by jestermgee on Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

raybies
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:31 am

Re: 4m USB cable

Post by raybies » Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:01 am

Thanks for the reply.
I was hoping that w/ a sufficiently good quality cable (20AWG) I might.
I thought the USB max distance of 5m was bcos of delay on the protocol.

Btw...
Using a ZY1276 USB Power Monitor I measured 410-450mA while using the original cable and the Push on.
The PC w/ a dummy load didn't flinch (~5.05V) when going to 550mA... I didn't increase resistance any further just in case.
With the extension I noted a 1.08V drop.

I don't have a USB B adaptor to test the other cables, and I'm to lazy to get the multimeter out and fashion one.


Also NI Komplete Kontrol Mk2 S61 w/ both LCD's works fine w/ the extension.

jestermgee
Posts: 3207
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: 4m USB cable

Post by jestermgee » Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:09 am

Not really much more you can do. If the original cable works but a longer one does not and you have confirmed there is significant enough drop over that distance (1v is significant) then the length of cable vs the power needed isn't compatible. Either need a power supply or shorter cable.

The 3rd option if you have the skills would be to use a custom USB power injector which you would overdrive to maybe 6v to compensate for voltage drop. I would stress that you really need to know your electronics to attempt this tho.

Post Reply