another softstep 2/Looper question

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
slatepipe
Posts: 1927
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: stoke newington in london
Contact:

another softstep 2/Looper question

Post by slatepipe » Fri Nov 30, 2018 11:02 am

hi - i been using my softstep with a MFL patch for ages now to navigate my live session and record and trigger midi loops with my midi bass which i record into clips in the session and it all works fine.

recently i've started to use a different instrument and a different approach - i've never used the Looper before and i want to set up four audio tracks with Loopers on them so that i can record audio loops coming in from my new Berimbau ( 8) :wink: :) )

can i ask any other softstep 2 users how they set up the softstep for live audio looping with Loopers? i'm having poor luck so far, as an experiment i've tried setting up one of the softstep pedals to send a 'foot on' CC when pressed and i've assigned it to the big button on the Looper, but it doesn't want to work properly - i just want it to Record, Play, Stop and Clear on each push of one pedal, but it seems to need two taps to get it to start recording and then wants to overdub but i don't want it to do that (it does this even when i've selected play after record in the Looper settings). should i be sending something else instead of a CC?

can anyone give me any examples or point me in the right direction? does anyone have a MFL patch they could share with me? i've checked on maxforlive.com and the ones there all seem pretty complex and not what i'm after

thanks for any help

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: another softstep 2/Looper question

Post by McAnix » Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:48 pm

I'm not using any M4L devices and I have SS 1 but the concept should be the same:

1. Live MIDI pref : Input SS Share ONLY remote input on, no out. SS Advance editor Output -> SS Share.
2. SS mapping to big button on looper(advanced editor): Mode: None. Source : Foot on. Table : Linear. Message Type CC. LED green true.
3. SS Mapping little stop button: Same as prev.
4.SS Mapping undo and clear, Same again.

Record x bars then 'play button' (somehow the big button goes to overdub next but that's my setup).

I've been checking out the Guitar Rig looper, haven't gigged with it yet but I like it way more. I can leave the window open and no matter what track I select I always have visual feedback over the looper and it quantize's much nicer than Live's looper.

slatepipe
Posts: 1927
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: stoke newington in london
Contact:

Re: another softstep 2/Looper question

Post by slatepipe » Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:59 pm

hey thanks, i'll check this later

one thing i noticed is that you have Table:Linear. i think i have it set to Toggle. maybe that's where i'm going wrong? everything else i have set the same

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: another softstep 2/Looper question

Post by McAnix » Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:10 pm

Yup pretty sure that's it.

Post Reply