copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
CancerRidden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:50 am

copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by CancerRidden » Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:54 am

I want to copy over the notes of a section in the song, over to another section but I don't want to affect the automation that I have created (some cutoff automation).

I only want to move the MIDI notes over, nothing else.

Every way I try to copy them over seems to also copy over the automation.

Thank you.

CancerRidden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:50 am

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by CancerRidden » Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:12 am

After going through the manual I believe there is a setting in regards to a "lock" icon...

I've been scanning the screen for the past 3 minutes I don't see a lock icon...

where is it ? :oops:

CancerRidden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:50 am

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by CancerRidden » Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:21 am

Found it, I included a picture with the icon circled in the top right of corner in case anybody else stumbles upon this thread via google.

Image

Street Spirit
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:56 pm
Location: MI

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by Street Spirit » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:06 pm

Nice thanks for the into, I laughed when i saw your still on Live 8 :lol:

Shnyder
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 5:21 pm

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by Shnyder » Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:19 pm

Dude, you're awesome. Love that you ask a question and you're the only one to answer it. :lol:
Thanks though I needed that answer

Blip
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:31 pm

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by Blip » Fri Apr 07, 2017 12:15 pm

I was that Google guy, THANKS

Gham
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:20 pm

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by Gham » Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:49 pm

You're still helping people over 5 years later, thanks! :mrgreen:

friendgineer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by friendgineer » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:57 pm

still helping :) thanks!

yankeenoodle
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 6:06 am

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by yankeenoodle » Mon Feb 04, 2019 6:07 am

Helped me, too!

www.shrimp.dj

BurtonLMusic
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:13 am
Location: Bay Area California and Chicago

Re: copy paste just midi notes without affecting automation?

Post by BurtonLMusic » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:44 pm

This is a similar question. How can I quantize my midi notes in a clip and have my automation stick to the quantized notes so I don't have to re-automate or edit my envelopes?

In any grid mode, I can not seem to even highlight the areas that I just need to nudge over and drag them horizontally. Really frustrating. I am in the most current version of Live 9. (Figured out how to drag them horizontally by highlighting in (grid off mode, grabbing the furthest anchor point that has enough room to slide in the direction un abstracted and then slide.

Don't get me wrong, it makes sense why this does not work this way but it would be great to have a lock automation to note mode some how.

Thanks!

Post Reply