Select channels for MIDI or Audio Instruments

Discussion of anything not related to audio or music production
Post Reply
Jukebox82
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:57 pm

Select channels for MIDI or Audio Instruments

Post by Jukebox82 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:41 pm

Hello all

I have been dabbling with Ableton for a little while now, and I would like to know how I can create a 2 channel for separate instruments?

I have created 2 MIDI tracks with the same instrument but I want to separate it over 2 channels. I have tried to select a channel based on the selected MIDI instrument. EG. I select channel 1 for the first MIDI instrument and channel 2 for the second instrument, but when I attempt to press keys on the MIDI input device (Keyboard) for the second instrument which has channel 2 selected, I can't here any sound come from the speakers. Also which may help a little more, I am using the Live 10 Intro package. Please assist. Help will be gladly appreciated.

Regards
Jukebox82
= = = = = = >

scheffkoch
Posts: 496
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Select channels for MIDI or Audio Instruments

Post by scheffkoch » Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:04 pm

…you have to „record enable“ the track you‘d like to play…
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

jestermgee
Posts: 3446
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Select channels for MIDI or Audio Instruments

Post by jestermgee » Tue Jan 01, 2019 3:27 am

Look in Preferences for the option "Exclusive Arm" and switch that OFF. you should then be able to rec arm multiple tracks. Optionally, holding I believe CTRL (CMD) and pressing the arm buttons allows multiple selection.

Post Reply