Windows Virtual MIDI

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
hoffman2k
Posts: 14689
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Windows Virtual MIDI

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:16 pm

I'm a bit out of the loop here. What is currently considered the most reliable and user-friendly virtual MIDI solution on Windows?
Also, is App initialization order still an issue for availability of ports? I'm only experiencing issues with Live to be honest, but I haven't tried all the MIDI drivers/Apps yet.

mothergarage
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Windows Virtual MIDI

Post by mothergarage » Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:29 pm

I'm using loopMIDI. No problems so far.
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

silentio246
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:31 pm

Re: Windows Virtual MIDI

Post by silentio246 » Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:39 pm

Yes! loopmidi. I`ve tried a few in the past.
it`s also 64 bit, and it works. Currently I have up to six virtual midi instances in my setup.
I`m also using the network midi driver (rtpmidi).
(Windows 10 64bit, LIVE9 Suite 64bit, Bidule 64bit, Komplete 12,Kore2, Fujitsu Celsius H760 Core i5-6440HQ, 64 Gb RAM, RME Multiface/Digiface)

hoffman2k
Posts: 14689
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Windows Virtual MIDI

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:52 pm

Thanks, I thought I tried Loopmidi but confused it with LoopBe1.
This is very nice indeed! Even works with hot-plugging new ports while Live is open and I can use custom names.

How is RTPMIDI working out for you Silentio?
Been wondering if I could just wire it into MFL for unrestricted MIDI. Guess I'll have a look :)
Edit: nevermind. Same as on OSX, talking to bonjour MIDI with MFL is an unstable mess.

silentio246
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:31 pm

Re: Windows Virtual MIDI

Post by silentio246 » Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:12 pm

I`ve also tried LoopBe but experienced errors.
I use rtpmidi for sending midi data from LIVE over network to another PC with BIDULE (modular vst-host), very stable so far.
The setup of rtpmidi (on all PCs in the network) is not as easy as with loopmidi, but it`s well explained from the author.
Last edited by silentio246 on Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
(Windows 10 64bit, LIVE9 Suite 64bit, Bidule 64bit, Komplete 12,Kore2, Fujitsu Celsius H760 Core i5-6440HQ, 64 Gb RAM, RME Multiface/Digiface)

hoffman2k
Posts: 14689
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Windows Virtual MIDI

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:42 pm

silentio246 wrote:I`ve also tried LoopBe but experienced errors, and it is 32bit only.
I use rtpmidi for sending midi data from LIVE over network to another PC with BIDULE (modular vst-host), very stable so far.
The setup of rtpmidi (on all PCs in the network) is not as easy as with loopmidi, but it`s well explained from the author.
Yeah, network MIDI does work properly if both host and client have the entire bonjour functionality. I never could get reliable results on the local network with Max, because there's this whole timestamp handshake mess involved that went over my head. Misfiring a message could make the OSX kernel crash.

I'll give Loopmidi a whirl, seems to work perfect for my purposes so far.
Thanks for the replies guys.

Post Reply