Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
5dn
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by 5dn » Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:30 pm

Dear Forumers,

Whenever I have an instance of reaktor 6 setup in my .als file when I save and leave Live then reopen later the ensemble is not there and back to default.

This is obviously a MAJOR problem :(

Any ideas?

Thanks

5D

maky355
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:10 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by maky355 » Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:15 am

5dn wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:30 pm
Dear Forumers,

Whenever I have an instance of reaktor 6 setup in my .als file when I save and leave Live then reopen later the ensemble is not there and back to default.

This is obviously a MAJOR problem :(

Any ideas?

Thanks

5D
Yes this is MAJOR problem but only on your computer. Problem is somewhere in your system. Or you are doing it completely wrong. For instance you are mentioning .als file but Reaktor files are actually .ens (ensemble) files and usually you simply load Reaktor ensemble in Reaktor and that's it. You tweak it, automate it whatever - preset is stored in your Live session or you can store it in Ensemble itself.

I (and thousands and thousands of users) am using Reaktor 5 and 6 for years with Live. It loads just nicely and is saving just normally. You would think that Ableton developers would already spot such major problem with Live in using one of the most used software (Reaktor) - by now

You didn't even reported on what OS you are.

5dn
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by 5dn » Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:37 am

Yes I am mentioning .als files and I understand that .ens files are Reaktor files! And I understand the concept of how it all works. pfft.

Oh and I'm using Windows 10 btw

still not working, and it may be on my computer but I was interested in a possible SOLUTION?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by [jur] » Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:44 am

I think Maky365 sounded a bit harsh not for the sake of being pedantic, but rather ironically because you've made quite a bold statement... in bold characters "MAJOR" where you're probably just overlooked a detail in your setup.
So everyone's fine now, right?
You should give more details about your setup if you need help.
thx
Ableton Forum Moderator

scheffkoch
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by scheffkoch » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:31 pm

...after upgrading to live10 i have to set up reaktor's osc settings again everytime i open my template (although it's the same reaktor ensemble i used in live9 where it stored all settings)...i'll do some more tests and report back!...
macbook pro late 2016, osx 10.13.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.0.1, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.7.6, touchable

5dn
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by 5dn » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:59 pm

well i meant a MAJOR problem for me. and yes i thought it was a bit harsh!

what details about setup?

I'm creating my own blocks Reaktor setups to send CVs to an EXpert SLeepers ES-3 to reach my modular gear.

i haven't tried saving changes or automation to presets for already given .ens files (NI synths etc.)

i have assumed it should be the same difference. basically that any .ens file info is not being recalled when I open my .als again

5dn
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by 5dn » Sat Apr 06, 2019 2:00 pm

thanks scheffkoch. i hope you can help

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by [jur] » Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:51 pm

Did you try opening your ensembles in other DAWs or in Reaktor standalone, or in L9 to see what happens?
Ableton Forum Moderator

5dn
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by 5dn » Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:21 pm

I don't have another DAW or Live9. Opening saved ensembles is not the problem. They just don't save within the .als automatically

pottering
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by pottering » Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:49 pm

It is an ensemble's tweaked settings or the whole ensemble itself not loading (loading an empty Reaktor instance)?

The latter sure doesn't happen here on my system (10.1b18 on Win 10), just loaded some old projects, the ensemble loads.

Also, it is full Reaktor, not Reaktor Player, right?

5dn
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by 5dn » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:18 am

Its the full Reaktor and it opens at init (empty)

pottering
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by pottering » Sun Apr 07, 2019 7:22 pm

Sorry, can't replicate, just made a new Set with Reaktor 6 and Reaktor FX, loaded a instrument ensemble in one and a FX ensemble in other, tweaked some settings, saved and then re-loaded, all the ensembles and settings were recalled. Same for older 2016 and 2017 projects I found here.

I asked about full Reaktor because not saving to the project is exactly the main limitation using ensembles with Reaktor Player (much like Kontakt Player).

Just to be clear (like for people that arrive here googling), Reaktor Player is not a separate product from Reaktor, it is just a licensing mode (or rather "not-licensed" mode).

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by [jur] » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:27 pm

Is your Reaktor up-to-date?
Also make sure that Live is the latest one, as there was an issue with recalling presets with earlier L10 versions. I don't remember which version fixed it, but just make sure you're running 10.0.6
Ableton Forum Moderator

5dn
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Re: Reaktor Ensemble not saving

Post by 5dn » Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:23 am

Yes everything is upto date.

Thanks Pottering and it is full Reaktor 6.

Post Reply