Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by Jay15 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:49 pm

Ive just got live 10 after a few years away from music and im having trouble with my samples, they will stop playing anytime i click in the arrangement window and they also stop playing when i adjust the sample volume ( blue fader, bottom right )

ll often want to listen to a long sample while doing something in the arrangement but currently have to sit there and wait for the sample to end before i can do anything in the arrangement. I remember live 8 never used to do this so why is it like it in 10, its beyond frustrating as i do a lot with samples and its a complete workflow killer and I cant see any good reason why its like this

Please tell me theres a way to fix this problem

Thanks

miyaru
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by miyaru » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:32 am

First of all: strange! It doesn't happen to me. If I click anywhere in arrangementview, the sample preview keeps on playing. Also adjusting the volume of the preview does make it stop.......but when you click on the sample in the preview window, it starts running at that point, and loops at the end. When you adjust the volume now nothing happens; it keeps on playing.

It might be a good idea to state on which kind of system you are - MAC/PC - what OS number and what flavour of Live 10...........

Someelse can chime in easier with an another suggestion or solution.
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by Jay15 » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:46 am

That gives me hope that its a problem that can be fixed then. I was hoping it wasnt how live 10 works as its such a stupid thing to happen

Im using PC, windows 10 and its the latest version of ableton suite which i think is 10.1
Last edited by Jay15 on Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

miyaru
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by miyaru » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:49 am

If the sample stops, just click in the preview window it will play and loop at the end - this way you can work like you want. :mrgreen:
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by Jay15 » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:53 am

It doesnt work like that for me, when it stops it will start again from the start unless i choose where to start it with the cursor

miyaru
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by miyaru » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:54 am

exactly, that is what I mean!
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by Jay15 » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:56 am

Im not following. I dont want it to play from the start agian, but most importantly i dont want it to stop

Does anyone know why this is happening and how i can fix it??

miyaru
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by miyaru » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:56 am

But maybe, there is kind of setting to put it like you want it - like in the options.txt or so.........

We will wait until the guru's chime in, and they might have the solution.
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by Jay15 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:31 am

can some people confirm if there's is ( or isnt ) like this too?

if it is just mine then il contact ableton support

pottering
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by pottering » Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:07 pm

If you mean the Browser preview sound, that's how it works for everybody (AFAIK).

Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by Jay15 » Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:22 am

yeah, where your samples play from the left hand side.

So this is how it is in live 10? if so how can they think this is an improvement over live 8, its so frustrating!

im really suprised i cant find anything online about this which is why i thought it might be just mine

is there anyway to request changes to be made on here?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by [jur] » Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:46 pm

Yeah, that's how the preview works since L9 unfortunately. Definitely not an improvement...
Ableton Forum Moderator

Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by Jay15 » Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:32 pm

Crazy! Live 8 was so much better for workflow, the browser was better, you had 3 sample folders instead of just 1, the samples didnt stop playing for ridiculous reasons, the browser subfolders didnt collapse each time you clicked on a new one so you then have to dig through your subfolders again!

Ive only had it a few weeks and so annoyed at what theyve done to it, its causing nothing but hassle and makes workflow so much slower, and considering the price you pay then at least give people the choice of setting things how they like it.

What are ableton like at changing things that are requested? and whats the best way to do it?

pottering
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by pottering » Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:16 pm

You can ctrl+click to keep subfolders open in the Browser.

Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Samples stop playing when clicking anywhere

Post by Jay15 » Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:39 am

yeah but as soon as you restart ableton or forget to hold ctrl they all collapse, it should be the other way around, hold ctrl if you want them to collapse

im looking at going back to live 8 or buying another DAW as these changes are so ridiculous :cry:

My latest problem is live 10 will not open live 8 sets even though it says they will

It feels like a good relationship has just gone to sh*t :lol:

Post Reply