Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
G-Pop
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:05 am
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by G-Pop » Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:09 pm

Angstrom wrote:There are some things in Ableton Live that I think only three people know about.

Here's one: The rack Hierarchy view, right click the little Rack Overview and receive a menu which will allow you to quickly jump to any instrument, or effect within the rack.
It's very useful when dealing with complex racks, but almost nobody knows about it.
Image
So what obscure Ableton Function do you think most people do not know?
YESSSSS!

Thank you Angstrom!

G Pop
Live10std. Win8x, 8G ram, Scarlette 2i2[1stGen] & ASIO[2ndGen]-KorgN5, M-audio MIDI, various guitarz!
Without skillz, we're all just Monkeys with Shotguns!

G-Pop
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:05 am
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by G-Pop » Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:36 pm

invol wrote:@Angstrom, nice one.

To move your view of anything in Live left/right or up/down, hold Option+Command (Mac) and you will see a hand you can drag around - e.g., Device Chains, Arrangement View, Zone Editors...

I am sure there are PC equivalents to the first 2.
FOR PC /WINx:
[Ctrl] & [Alt] gives you the "grabby hand" thing and thanks (again!)Angstrom!
(Between Angstrom & Stromkraft I'm getting lots of ideas and help!)

G Pops
Last edited by G-Pop on Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Live10std. Win8x, 8G ram, Scarlette 2i2[1stGen] & ASIO[2ndGen]-KorgN5, M-audio MIDI, various guitarz!
Without skillz, we're all just Monkeys with Shotguns!

Gregory Wells-King
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Somerset UK
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Gregory Wells-King » Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:23 pm

I just learnt you can edit the text window for Lives clips as well as well as Live’s tracks. Quite useful for adding info relating to Key or how it was made, at a glance.

It’s not particularly obscure Ijust see stuff in Live and never really use it until I notice it properly. 8O

G-Pop
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:05 am
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by G-Pop » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:16 pm

Gregory Wells-King wrote:I just learnt you can edit the text window for Lives clips as well as well as Live’s tracks. Quite useful for adding info...
I just "lernt" this myself a bit ago Greg! Same way too...
Stumbled on it while I was wishing for it! (Sub-Menu)

My challenge with the manual is usually nomenclature but this
one was all "where to find it" and I run out of patience quick
when I'm in the middle of creating something. I've been using
"side-chaining" lately and particularly "Ducking" my drums, and
the "Notes" have come in very handy indeed!

My recordings and clips may come IN raw, but they never stay that way.
The Notes feature I KNEW had to be there; who wouldn't want this???
So although not so obscure, it is in a way and I'm sure lots of future
forum visitors will be glad you mentioned it here and/or stumble
across this post and find it THAT way! :idea:
Brilliant!

G Pops
Live10std. Win8x, 8G ram, Scarlette 2i2[1stGen] & ASIO[2ndGen]-KorgN5, M-audio MIDI, various guitarz!
Without skillz, we're all just Monkeys with Shotguns!

Exie
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:58 am

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Exie » Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:36 pm

When multiple controls are mapped to rack macros, they are displayed as 0-127 values, and plugin parameters are always mapped like that:

Image

I always had problems with this because it isn't natural for human beings to think in 7-bit integers (hey, MIDI). This is how rack macros can have meaningful units and scales.

A dummy device that has a control with desirable units (percents, dBs, Hz) is inserted into the chain and goes first. It can be disabled if it's not needed in a chain. Both dummy and useful controls are mapped to a macro, it stays 0-127 at this point as expected:

Image

Then both dummy device and useful devices are grouped with dummy racks, a macro takes units from the first mapped control in chain, which is dummy device:
Image

Mapping ranges can be tuned inside inner dummy racks but not inside outer rack, to not lose macro units.

Discovered by jur here, this seems to be a bug but also a great feature, hope it will never be fixed.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by [jur] » Sun Mar 17, 2019 5:47 pm

Exie wrote:
Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:36 pm
Discovered by jur here, this seems to be a bug but also a great feature, hope it will never be fixed.
Haha, I was reading your post thinking "I know this one".
:lol:

Btw, at some point I'd like to review the whole topic and make a sticky with all the tips listed and organized in a nice single post.
If anyone is interested in helping drop me a pm.
Ableton Forum Moderator

King Z
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 3:50 am
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by King Z » Sat Mar 23, 2019 4:14 pm

Image
Group of audio tracks saved as .als - You can save a group of audio tracks in a .als template file and place it in your user library then drag and drop it into a new session when you need to record something like a drum kit with you regular presets! :mrgreen:
https://atlasmusic.us

Danthewoman
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:31 pm
Location: Demarest, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Danthewoman » Sat Mar 23, 2019 8:45 pm

Make a chain with redux (I like to use Broken Hi-Hats) and an EQ that cuts the low end at 1.44 khz, then make another chain without these and set the first chain to -5.7 db. You'll get more texture to your hi-hats! I learned this from SadowickProduction.

ETA: Shit, I already posted this. But this is what Sadowick did in his video; I'd twisted it into my own, crappy version.
I am Grid, the last being you will ever see.

Fvtch
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 4:56 am

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Fvtch » Sat Jun 01, 2019 7:16 pm

Rename the scenes under the master with tempos and or time signatures and the scene and session will conform to that.

Tempo in this format: xxxbpm
Time signature in this format: x/x
If you use both, they need to be separated by any character: xxxbpm~x/x

https://imgur.com/a/dx2ZU8x

Jay15
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Jay15 » Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:16 pm

Danthewoman wrote:
Sat Mar 23, 2019 8:45 pm
Make a chain with redux (I like to use Broken Hi-Hats) and an EQ that cuts the low end at 1.44 khz, then make another chain without these and set the first chain to -5.7 db. You'll get more texture to your hi-hats! I learned this from SadowickProduction.

ETA: Shit, I already posted this. But this is what Sadowick did in his video; I'd twisted it into my own, crappy version.
thats a good one,

Ive done a similar thing with vocoder, it adds a nice noise to any signal you throw at it and can really help give a sound some highs. It follows the volume of the input and you can control so much with the different things such as formant = pitch of the noise, attack and release, you can also move the vocoder bands up and down as sort of a EQ but i prefer to use a EQ 8 at the end. Sounds very natural when done right

Add vocoder to a channel
Right click it
Group it
Add a chain and keep it empty ( dry chain )
Set vocoder to 100% wet if it isnt already
Set amount of bands to 4
Bandwidth ( BW ) to 200%

jbodango
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by jbodango » Tue Aug 20, 2019 12:22 am

A personal favorite:

Sidechaining in Dance Music

... mastery of these techniques may result in a noticeable increase in drink tickets, remix offers and dates.

Source: Live 7 Printed Manual

Image
https://imgur.com/a/MU7JLOs

chapelier fou
Posts: 4977
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:53 pm

I just found a trick that I thought I would share. After like 13 years using Live... Anyway :D

I always found annoying that working with Scenes (typically with global launch quantization) causes abrupt changes on the downbeat. I always missed, for example, the ability to have a drum call (or whatever you call it) just before the first beat of the launched scene.

Here's how you can do that (with the example of a drum track and assuming that you're using a 1 bar global quantization) :

- Arm the Drum Track
- Create a MIDI track, call it "Drum Call" and route the MIDI out to the Drum Track
- In scene 1 of the "Drum Call", put an empty 1 bar clip
- In scene 2 of the "Drum Call", put a 1 bar clip, call it "Drum Roll", draw your drum roll at the end of the clip.
- Put the "Drum Roll" clip in LEGATO, set the launch to Trigger and Quantize to a small value (or NONE), and adjust the Follow Action to stop the clip after 1 bar.

Here it is : when you launch scene 2 after scene 1, it's always preceded by your drum call. The only downside is if you trigger the next scene in the middle of the "drum call", it will play the whole bar, so you'll hear the beginning of the roll.

It's maybe obvious but I never figured it out until then.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

ShelLuser
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by ShelLuser » Thu Oct 24, 2019 8:55 am

Fun thread!

Anyway, this is not too obscure I think but even so it's easily overlooked...

I assume everyone knows that you can set up a default setting for any instrument or effect? Just in case: if you want a specific setting to be applied the very moment you drag in a device then you can simply set up your instrument or effect and when you're done you right click on the device and use 'save as default preset'. Nothing new here I hope ;)

But did you know that you can do the same for whole Audio or MIDI tracks? I didn't :lol:

Situation: I don't often work with external audio, I do have a pretty cool mic. but it's hardly being used. My default live set consists of one audio track and one midi and because of this aspect the audio track's audio source is set to "Resampling". So far, so good. But any new audio tracks I add resort to "Ext. in" again. Not very useful to me.

Solution: Do the same as above! Add an audio track (or any other of course) and set it up the way you want it to be. In my example this is "No input". Then right click on the track and use "Save as default xxx track" (xxx = audio or midi). Done!

So when I start a new live set I end up with what I described earlier: a default midi track and an audio track with its input set to 'resampling'. But the moment I add a new audio track that input will be set to none. I'm still considering if I shall do something alike with midi tracks as well, but I'm not too sure (so: leaving the standard midi track to all ins, but new midi tracks would focus on Push by default).

Hope this could be useful for someone.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

filtersweep
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:28 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by filtersweep » Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:59 pm

ShelLuser wrote:
Thu Oct 24, 2019 8:55 am
Fun thread!

Anyway, this is not too obscure I think but even so it's easily overlooked...

I assume everyone knows that you can set up a default setting for any instrument or effect? Just in case: if you want a specific setting to be applied the very moment you drag in a device then you can simply set up your instrument or effect and when you're done you right click on the device and use 'save as default preset'. Nothing new here I hope ;)
I am aware you can save as default audio or midi tracks, but i don't have any option to save a default for a plugin.
When I right-click i only see "Save as default configuration" if i click this and then drag the fx on to a track, nothing has changed.
Am I missing something?
thx

ShelLuser
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by ShelLuser » Wed Oct 30, 2019 9:27 am

filtersweep wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:59 pm
I am aware you can save as default audio or midi tracks, but i don't have any option to save a default for a plugin.
When I right-click i only see "Save as default configuration" if i click this and then drag the fx on to a track, nothing has changed.
Am I missing something?
It depends on the way the VST behaves within Live; all Live can do is save the settings it knows about. Some vst's don't propagate any settings back to Live (it sometimes doesn't even know about any usable presets for example) which will then leave little for Live to remember. So this behavior heavily depends on the vst you're using. If you check the preset section of the user library then you'll notice that Live definitely saved something.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

Post Reply