Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
SoundsMagic
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:08 pm

Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Post by SoundsMagic » Sun Sep 08, 2019 12:33 pm

Hi all!

I'm working on an exciting setup involving ClyphX Pro and TouchOSC, where I'm trying to control everything from my iPad. I've managed to change presets on my VST instruments with Program Changes, but now I would like to change presets on the plug-ins sitting in the Return Tracks. Since those tracks don't have any MIDI inputs and lack the ability to have clips on them, does anyone have any idea on how they can be controlled?

Thanks!

/John

miyaru
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Post by miyaru » Sun Sep 08, 2019 1:26 pm

Automation lanes in arrangement mode?
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

SoundsMagic
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Post by SoundsMagic » Sun Sep 08, 2019 1:54 pm

miyaru wrote:
Sun Sep 08, 2019 1:26 pm
Automation lanes in arrangement mode?
Thanks for the input! Hm, haven't worked a lot with the automation, but can it be used to change presets on the return track plug-ins even when Ableton is not playing? I'm using mainly OSC commands to trigger ClyphX Pro actions, but so far I've only worked in Session Mode since this is meant to function even without backtracks or other functions that requires Ableton to be playing.

miyaru
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Post by miyaru » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:34 am

I don't use that, so I really don't know - the only thing I know and use is automation lanes in arrangementview....... sorry I can't help you any further. :oops:
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

S4racen
Posts: 5217
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Post by S4racen » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:38 am

Route the Return tracks audio back to a session track and place the plugins there...

Cheers
D

SoundsMagic
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Post by SoundsMagic » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:14 pm

S4racen wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:38 am
Route the Return tracks audio back to a session track and place the plugins there...

Cheers
D
Oooh... Hehe... This is why a forum is a great thing. You can point out to each other that the problems you're facing isn't always problems... :) Thanks D for the simple solution, kind of annoying that I didn't think about that!! :D

SoundsMagic
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Post by SoundsMagic » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:15 pm

miyaru wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:34 am
I don't use that, so I really don't know - the only thing I know and use is automation lanes in arrangementview....... sorry I can't help you any further. :oops:
No worries Miyaru! I'm thankful that you took the time to respond and share your knowledge!

S4racen
Posts: 5217
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Controlling plug-ins on Return Tracks

Post by S4racen » Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:46 am

SoundsMagic wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:14 pm
S4racen wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:38 am
Route the Return tracks audio back to a session track and place the plugins there...

Cheers
D
Oooh... Hehe... This is why a forum is a great thing. You can point out to each other that the problems you're facing isn't always problems... :) Thanks D for the simple solution, kind of annoying that I didn't think about that!! :D
No worries, I do use MAxforLive devices for this kind of thing for added functionality but sometimes the simplest solutions are the best...

Cheers
D

Post Reply