ML-185 all projects start default values

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
TeleDanz
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:48 pm

ML-185 all projects start default values

Post by TeleDanz » Mon Dec 28, 2020 11:21 am

Since a day or two every project that uses the ML-185 sequencer, when I open the project, the notes being played are all the default note C4 I assume.
I do see the knob positions but the midi transcendet are all the same note. When I press random also still the same. However when I manually change the notes, to the position they are showing, they do play again the correct note.
I'm not aware of any updates I have done or whatsoever, so I'm really confused how this suddenly got broken for every project and how to fix this. I have deleted and copyed the M4L device in the folder but no help. Anyone know how to fix this?

chapelier fou
Posts: 5343
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: ML-185 all projects start default values

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Dec 28, 2020 7:50 pm

What’s in the Max window ?
(Right click on the device header)
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

TeleDanz
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:48 pm

Re: ML-185 all projects start default values

Post by TeleDanz » Sat Jan 02, 2021 4:53 pm

chapelier fou wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 7:50 pm
What’s in the Max window ?
(Right click on the device header)

it says following

viddll engine not installed: video playback capabilities will be limited, please install VIDDLL package from Package Manager (File->Show Package Manager)

I have no clue why or what I should do

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2697
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: ML-185 all projects start default values

Post by [jur] » Sat Jan 02, 2021 9:53 pm

TeleDanz wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 11:21 am
Since a day or two
What changed in your setup befpre this started happening?
Ableton Forum Moderator

TeleDanz
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:48 pm

Re: ML-185 all projects start default values

Post by TeleDanz » Sat Jan 02, 2021 10:08 pm

I'm not sure, I think I might have updated M4L... but I'm not even sure. In Ableton nothing changed

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2697
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: ML-185 all projects start default values

Post by [jur] » Mon Jan 04, 2021 1:01 am

TeleDanz wrote:
Sat Jan 02, 2021 10:08 pm
I'm not sure, I think I might have updated M4L... but I'm not even sure. In Ableton nothing changed
Then, maybe try using the previous Max version and keep us posted.
Ableton Forum Moderator

Post Reply