audio drop outs: solved?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
theo
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:02 am
Contact:

audio drop outs: solved?

Post by theo » Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:16 pm

after a few weeks playin with live (with no problems, everything runnin smooth), I started experiencing glitches and audio dropouts for apparently no reason (cpu fine <20%, plenty of ram, etc...).

I did a bit of maintenance on my computer: registry cleaning, hard drive defrag, etc... and now everything is fine again.

Even thought I'm happy to see my live is good again, I feel a bit frustrated for not understanding very well why these glitches happened and not even really understanding why they disappeared!!!

Any ideas people?

theo
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:02 am
Contact:

Post by theo » Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:46 pm

oh shit... looks like I talked too fast. Not everything is fine, I still get glitches:

(see markers labels)

Image

solovox
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 6:41 am
Location: Portland
Contact:

Post by solovox » Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:47 pm

The Abes are helping me figure this one out...it's pretty bad on my end. It seems to be related to the size of the Session. My session in question is 4 gigs...you?

theo
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:02 am
Contact:

Post by theo » Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:54 pm

only 135megabytes!

theo
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:02 am
Contact:

Post by theo » Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:01 pm

could the small cache size of celeron 2.4ghz be a problem? I'm considering upgrading to a full featured pentium-M soon.

theo
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:02 am
Contact:

Post by theo » Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:02 pm

oh... and did I mention my 135meg set had 127meg of freezed audio?

Pheek
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2003 5:09 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by Pheek » Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:13 pm

theo wrote:only 135megabytes!
I shouldnt say that but I thought I was the only one with that problem. I played last saturday and was quite nervous...

But I manage to do something that helped and made me play all the way through without glitches, dropouts or stuttering. Here's my recipe:

-- I first rolled back to 5.0.1 because the new version was horrible (for me).
1. defrag
2. Free everything on the same IRQ than my soundcard
3. Change the shell for Live instead of explorer
4. Reboot
5. Live opens, i load my set and then do "on-off" on ALL fx.
6. Someone from the forum suggested to activate once all the clips so I did that.

Once I did that, there was no "D" flashing anymore or dropouts.

My set is 1 gig big.

I plan to zap my HD when i go back home and reinstall windows from scratch.

Hope this helps...

jp

theo
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:02 am
Contact:

Post by theo » Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:14 pm

mmm... looks like I'm not the only one experiencing audio glitches/drop outs.

I guess I'll have to wait a bug-fix version (v 5.03 ?)

theo
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:02 am
Contact:

Post by theo » Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:17 pm

I'll do a fresh windows/live install as well but I'd prefer a "real" solution. I didnt pay for workarounds or recipes.

But hey... "la patience est une vertue" !

Machinesworking
Posts: 11236
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Machinesworking » Fri Dec 16, 2005 5:54 am

It's not just windows that has these problems, it would be nice to have an answer. I emailed Ableton about it. Mine only occur when I send some sort of MIDI signal to Live, say a soft synth, and it only cuts out for about 1/2-1/4 of a second.

Locked