amplitude to midi VST ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Dj-Grobe
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:13 pm

amplitude to midi VST ?

Post by Dj-Grobe » Fri Apr 06, 2007 5:55 am

Somebody know some VST can convert aplitude to midi cc values and work on mac?

chapelier fou
Posts: 5063
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Post by chapelier fou » Fri Apr 06, 2007 7:55 am

if you own plogue bidule, it's very easy to do it with an envelope follower.
Very easy with max too, I guess.

Dj-Grobe
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:13 pm

Post by Dj-Grobe » Sun Apr 15, 2007 4:09 am

I installed mx and really understadn how work.
chapelier fou you use max or plogue bidule ?

I need create VST for osx can convert amplitude to midi 0 - 127 and cant conect with extrnal midi device.

I continue trying understand how max work.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5063
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:41 am

I use plogue.
In max, I don't know if there is something like a built in envelope follower.
I don't know max very well, but I'll try simply with a peak meter linked to the adc. I think the signal would be between 0 and 127, wich can be sent to a cc maker value.
I don't own max so I can't try. But it shouldn't be hard, I think.
I you buy plogue, I can build you the patch.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5063
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:43 am

And I was thinking, with max you have to buy pluggo to make a vst.
Plogue can be run as a vst or vsti.

Dj-Grobe
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:13 pm

Post by Dj-Grobe » Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Well f sombody can program VST for osx, please contactme.

laird
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:05 pm
Location: PDX
Contact:

Post by laird » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:00 pm

There is a VST plugin in the Pluggo Plugins pack that does exactly this.
Sorry, I've never used it in Live.

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:03 pm

chapelier fou wrote:And I was thinking, with max you have to buy pluggo to make a vst.
that is wrong. First of all, you need to treat audio, so you'll need maxMSP, not just max. Secondly, in order to RUN a pluggo, you need the free pluggo runtime.

DJ-grobe, I wish I could easily explain the process of making a vst to you, but obviously that can't be done. Do the max tutorials and a few MSP tutorials, and hopefully the rest will be apparent then.

andreas.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5063
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:13 pm

Ok , I didn't know that, sorry!

Dj-Grobe
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:13 pm

Post by Dj-Grobe » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:14 pm

Machinate, read my monotouchlive post i put more info on that place : )

Thankyou for your repply.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5063
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:15 pm

What about synth maker, or synthedit?

Dj-Grobe
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:13 pm

Post by Dj-Grobe » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:16 pm

Synthmaker and synth edit just work for windows, and in this right moment canT be used for send midi out the host, im working with one of the Sm developers on that feature : ) Soon vst created with SM can send midi hout of the host : )

laird
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:05 pm
Location: PDX
Contact:

Post by laird » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:19 pm

what about Pluggo-- since they have already made a VST that converts amplitude to MIDI CC, you wouldn't have to program one yourself?

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:27 pm

laird wrote:what about Pluggo-- since they have already made a VST that converts amplitude to MIDI CC, you wouldn't have to program one yourself?
Since this is for distribution with a perhaps-commecial product.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Dj-Grobe
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:13 pm

Post by Dj-Grobe » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:27 pm

Im really not interested in buy at this moment MAX/MSP + PLUGGO
I think i buy at the end of 2007 now not have time for learn MAX/MSP

And other question can plugins created with pluggo send midi out of the HOST to external devices?

In this case HOST is ableton.



Now i start understand why pluggo + ableton can be amazing thing !! :)

Post Reply