do i need two separate midi buttons to turn a device on off?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Jaan
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 8:25 am

do i need two separate midi buttons to turn a device on off?

Post by Jaan » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:04 pm

i'm trying to assign a midi control on my xsession pro to beat repeat on/off... but it only turns it on, and doesn't turn it off...

how do i get a midi button to be an on AND off switch?

cheers
filthy

sporkles
Posts: 3209
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Post by sporkles » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:11 pm

Just make sure it's set up to toggle on/off. I think the usual method is to set
0 as lowest value and 127 as highest. I think that should work; check your
mapping settings in Live to see what it wants ;)

Jaan
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 8:25 am

Post by Jaan » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:16 pm

how do i set it to toggle?

setting it to min 0 and max 127 doesn't work =\
filthy

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Homebelly » Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:00 pm

Its a hardware thing..
the actual controller needs to be set up as toggle.
What hard ware are you using?
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

Jaan
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 8:25 am

Post by Jaan » Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:03 pm

m audio x session pro with a bcd3000, audio interface is a presonus firebox

edit: fixed, i had to make a new preset on m audio enigma software, then upload it onto the x session... then CCs were interfering with the BCD so i had to redo the preset and change the midi channel... but i had an awesome DJ session!
filthy

Post Reply