Setting up Headphones with Ableton

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
Zipocal
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 9:03 am

Setting up Headphones with Ableton

Post by Zipocal » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:12 pm

Hey guys,

Id like to thank you for the help before hand.

I recently, got a copy of Ableton Lite with my M-Audio Axiom that I bought myself for Christmas. I am considering going to Digital and buying the full verison. I would use Ableton primarily for DJing. The issue is, I cant get my headphones set up.

After watching multiple videos, the setting that needs set, wont pop up.
I have an external MIDI mixer / soundcard - Hercules MK2. Alone it is a standalone beginners mixer, but can also be used as a MIDI device.

The issue is, when it is plugged into Ableton, it only recognizes 1 and 2, but not 3 and 4 output. So I cannot set a line for my headphones. The mixer itself has a headphone jack (3 +4) and an output to speaker jack (1+2). I updated the drivers for the device, and it seems that Ableton is the issue, as I have another program that recognizes the 3+4 output.

Is there a patch to correct this? Am I missing something? Is there a patch that allows ableton to use two sound cards? Is there a USB soundcard that will work with Ableton, something on the cheaper side, as I am currently saving up for a A+H 3D.

Thank you!

ollyb303
Posts: 2666
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by ollyb303 » Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:18 am

In your Audio Preferences, in the Audio device Output Config, have you enabled all of your outputs?

If not, do so at once!
.:O:B:1:.
ob1techno.com

Zipocal
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 9:03 am

Post by Zipocal » Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:56 am

Under preferences (PC) - Audio - Speakers (Hercules MK2) DX is selected, and under output config, it only recognizes 1 + 2 Mono, and 1/2 Stero, it doesnt recognize 3/4.

ollyb303
Posts: 2666
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by ollyb303 » Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:05 am

Does the Hercules have ASIO capability (I think it does) - If so, have you tried using the ASIO driver rather than DX?

If you don't have an ASIO driver for it, you could try ASIO4all - it's free and works with most interfaces.
.:O:B:1:.
ob1techno.com

Zipocal
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 9:03 am

Post by Zipocal » Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 pm

ASIO4all for some reason didnt work for me, I think it was a prob on there end with the release of there newer verison. Now, their website is down.

On the Hercules Drivers I switched over to ASIO, and nothing changed. Ableton still doesnt recognize 3 and 4, so I cannot set up a line for my headphones.

Zipocal
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 9:03 am

Post by Zipocal » Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:32 am

fixed

mark hat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: United Kingdom

same problem!!!!

Post by mark hat » Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:16 pm

Hi there
i have the same problem, Ableton is not recognising outputs 3/4, iv'e tried the asio4all and it didn't work,, the asio4all can see i have 2 outputs but ableton still doesn't..
how did you sort this problem out??????
thanks for time,,,
mark.....

kleine
Posts: 1851
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 11:46 am
Location: ableton
Contact:

Post by kleine » Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:35 pm

keep in mind that Lite versions do not support more than a stereo output.

best,
Christian

mark hat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by mark hat » Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:01 pm

hiya,,
i'm running version 7.0.10 on windows vista 32bit and trying to hook up a lexicon alpha sound card,,
thanks,,
mark

Locked