why even let us go over ZERO DB 'S ???

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
casioaz1

why even let us go over ZERO DB 'S ???

Post by casioaz1 » Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:13 am

so, since everyone agrees that anything over ZERO DB'S is distortion, why can't they make all DAW software STOP at ZERO DB'S and make it easier for us???

OR

is there a purpose for GOING OVER zero db's ? (i'm a novice at this kinda stuff, but, you all with me here?)

Tone Deft

Re: why even let us go over ZERO DB 'S ???

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:19 am

if they did that it would hard clip, MUCH nastier.

I think. Henke???
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

Johnisfaster

Post by Johnisfaster » Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:58 am

seriously, could you imagine mixing in ableton if anything over 0db was a hard clip? yuck.
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

rbmonosylabik

Post by rbmonosylabik » Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:00 am

I think it's all about freedom. For instance, some plug-ins behave differently if you feed them a signal that is too loud, and while it might sound good or like ass, having the freedom to experiment like that is always welcome.

Also, the Abes have gone to great lengths to make single tracks going in the red not clip as a safety net, but at some point, it's the user's responsibility to know what he's doing, and it's cool that they placed it up until the last effect in the Master.

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

john doe by choice

Post by john doe by choice » Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:33 am

It also seems helpful in a visual sense - you can see how hard you are clipping, just looking at the master levels.

trilo

Post by trilo » Thu Jun 18, 2009 6:50 am

better living through distortion

forge

Post by forge » Thu Jun 18, 2009 7:12 am

casioaz1 wrote:...why can't they make all DAW software STOP at ZERO DB'S and make it easier for us???
actually they do