using MFL to create racks with more macros?

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
Forge.

using MFL to create racks with more macros?

Post by Forge. » Sun Sep 06, 2009 3:24 am

Hi
For my first MFL project I decided to look into creating racks with more than 8 macros using tabs to switch between the banks

being a TOTAL beginner with Max I have barely the first idea how to start on this, but I have managed to find the 'map' live.dial object, and also the 'tab' object - but TBH from there I barely even know where to look

anyone have any tips/suggestions of tutorials etc that will point me in the right direction?

cheers
Craig

Machinate

Re: using MFL to create racks with more macros?

Post by Machinate » Tue Sep 08, 2009 6:28 am

hey mate.
have you done the max tutorials? I'd say it's really neccesary to go through all of those before you dig in. Heaps of inspiration there too.

peace
andreas
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Forge.

Post by Forge. » Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:14 am

Hey Andreas

Yeah I've tried some of them...guess I was hoping for a general direction (or even someone to tell me it's not even possible) - time is limited lately, and as a total max noob I could see it taking a LOT of time!

Machinate

Post by Machinate » Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:29 am

I would definitely say; go through all of them - at least, like, the first 40-50 of them. Honestly it's the only way to "teach a man to fish" in this situation. It's well worth the effort, in my opinion. And it's actually fun, spend an hour a day on that and you should be up and running rather quickly.

And yes, it should be possible to do a little max patch with a bunch of dials turning individual macro knobs in a rack somewhere else.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Michael Hatsis

Post by Michael Hatsis » Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:33 am