UC-33e - launching clips - why click twice?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Robert

UC-33e - launching clips - why click twice?

Post by Robert » Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:32 pm

Hello - excuse this if it is a stupid question. I have just got my UC33e and Live 4 and have got everything to work - so am feeling pretty pleased with myself as I am new to this.

I have assigned the number keys to launch the clips, and sometimes the first time I click the key it launches the clip fine, but mostly I have to click it twice, which I am sure you understand messes up the mix a bit.

Anyone else have this problem? all ideas gratefully accepted!

Regards

Robert

hoffman2k

Post by hoffman2k » Sat Oct 23, 2004 8:59 am

you have to assign the buttons on the uc33 to note messages.
What you have now is a note-on when you press and then note-off the second time.
If you assign the buttons to notes it will go to Note-off when you release the button.

consult the uc33 manual if you do not know how to change the buttons.

cheers.

Robert

Post by Robert » Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:46 pm

Thanks Hoffman - I have checked the manual and found the section below - is this what you meant?

Evolution UC-33 Advanced User Guide
Assigning A Note To A Button
1. Press SELECT and press the “0” button. The display will show that you
have selected controller 34.
2. Press ASSIGN and enter '147' this is the MIDI CC
number that corresponds to Note on/off mode, as shown in
Appendix B.
3. Press DATA MSB twice and enter a value of '100'. This means
when you press the button, a Note on message will be sent
out with a velocity of 100.
4. Press DATA LSB twice, and enter a value of '000'. This
means when you release the button, a Note off message will
be sent out.
5. Press the PROGRAM button twice and enter '064'. This will
mean you are sending out MIDI note 64 or E4, each time you
press the button. The MIDI note numbers are given in
Appendix D.