Proper path for mixer_device children in JavaScript

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
Post Reply
DirectGumby
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:40 pm

Proper path for mixer_device children in JavaScript

Post by DirectGumby » Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:39 am

Hello,

I'm a little stumped on the proper path setup for the following mixer_device children.

Here is what I have been trying:

js: --:Adding Child - Path: live_set tracks 0 mixer_device panning
js: --:Adding Child - Path: live_set tracks 0 mixer_device sends 0
js: --:Adding Child - Path: live_set tracks 0 mixer_device volume

Knowing that panning and volume are actual DeviceParamters is interesting but I'm still not clear on what the path should look like.

Similar issue with the sends, what should that path look like as well?
Currnetly the sends 0 always returns a ID of zero. This would imply that there is no object for the that path but thre actually is a send on the track.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks,
Brett

amounra93
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:16 pm
Location: Arcata, CA
Contact:

Re: Proper path for mixer_device children in JavaScript

Post by amounra93 » Sun Oct 03, 2010 8:32 am

Code: Select all

track_send[num][i].goto("live_set", "tracks", num, "mixer_device", "sends", i);
Straight from one of my scripts, so I know it works. I'm using goto, but the path is the same. It looks like you are doing it right, make sure that each element is an individual string/int by seperating them with commas. I've had issues with that before.

Hope that helps, cheers.
http://www.aumhaa.com for Monomod and other m4l goodies.

DirectGumby
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:40 pm

Re: Proper path for mixer_device children in JavaScript

Post by DirectGumby » Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:28 pm

Excellent, I'll give it a try.

You are correct, I have noticed that many times if you just send long string "live_set tracks 0 mixer_device sends 0" I get an error with it understanding the path. Also, I had an issue where I had "live_set tracks[space][space]0" and the two spaces caused a failure to parse but removal of the extra space made the error go away. It looks like I would be wise to stop building the path as a single string. A little bit of work, but doable.

I'll give it a shot this morning and let you know how it goes.

Thank you for your help,
Brett

Post Reply