All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Follw actions on scenes
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:39 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Posts: 3237
Location: Sweden
As I said in

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15642

and here is an (not musically interresting but supporting my thought) Live set that demonstrates how to use follow actions for scenes.

http://web.telia.com/~u19126355 - link under Live header. [Gone away...]

Edit: Direct
http://web.telia.com/~u19126355/Live/scene_follows.zip

The set uses midi yoke 4 as external midi controller, you might have to adjust tyhat to something that siuts your set up.
When triggering one of the midi clips in track 6, scenes 5 to 7 will be triggered according to the follow actions for the clips in track 6.

The audio clips in track 3 have their own follow actions in their group that will run until a new scene is triggered from the controlling clips in 6.

// C

_________________
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/


Last edited by conny on Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 1:32 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:26 am
Posts: 2133
Location: Orlando FL
Wow. Thank you!

I was thinking about this the other day, and wanted a way to do exactly that ...trigger scenes automatically.

I tend to write using clip lengths of 4 bars. So I normally think in terms of trigging the next row of clips every 4 bars. Often I'm not really looking to have to trigger them 'live', manually ...

I just want to conceptualize building the arrrangement in rows of four bars clips, make modifications, and keep triggering them down the list that way

This is awesome. I simplified it to meet my purposes right now:

- create Scene Launch MIDI Track on the far right of the grid.

- create a 4 bar clip in this track, Scene 1. No looping. Global quantization.

- place notes in this clip on C-2, beat 4 ... and C#-2, beat 4.1.3.

These notes are at the bottom of the keyboard to where they would be rarely used by any instruments

- MIDI assign C-2 to global Scene Down control, C#-2 to global Scene Launch

- assign MIDI Yoke 4 as an input and an output in Preferences.

Viola. Trigger the first scene manually, and my scene automatically jumps down to the next, and triggers on the next bar (Global is set to bar)

For each scene I want to play for 4 bars, gets a "SCN 4" clip. 8 bars? "SCN 8" clip. 16? "SCN 16". etc ...

Beautiful! You just solved a major issue for my producing. This can be modified in so many ways, its amazing ...

Cant imagine yet how using MIDI Yoke to control the live interface is going to come in handy in about a million ways, but as time goes on I'm sure Im going to come up with more ... ;)

_________________
--
NEW SPECS: Athlon 4200+ dual; A8N-SLI m/b; Win XP Home SP2; 1 GB RAM; 2x 7200 RPM HDD: 1 internal, 1 Firewire 800 (Firewire is project data drive); M-Audio Triggerfinger

josh 'vonster' von; tracks and sets
http://www.joshvon.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 12:48 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Posts: 3237
Location: Sweden
I'm happy this could really help you out.
I'm most in the experimental mood, equals no really structured songs will be produced, so that this helps when doing proper songs it's an extra bonus!
There are, as the usually says, just the imagination that sets the limits. You could as well send CC messages over external midi yoke to control parameters as sample start in Simpler on another track from controlling midi clips.
When I looked at your example, it occured to me that go to next/prev/trigg current on tracks are missing in Live. They are only on scenes. If we had them on tracks too, that could complicate/ease some special trigger logic!

// C

_________________
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 4:41 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:26 am
Posts: 2133
Location: Orlando FL
conny wrote:
When I looked at your example, it occured to me that go to next/prev/trigg current on tracks are missing in Live. They are only on scenes. If we had them on tracks too, that could complicate/ease some special trigger logic!
// C


Yes, good point. Because - of course - at the point you could "play" the entire grid automatically using MIDI notes to trigger any clip, any where ...

Got your msg conny - I'll put something together for you in a bit ..

_________________
--
NEW SPECS: Athlon 4200+ dual; A8N-SLI m/b; Win XP Home SP2; 1 GB RAM; 2x 7200 RPM HDD: 1 internal, 1 Firewire 800 (Firewire is project data drive); M-Audio Triggerfinger

josh 'vonster' von; tracks and sets
http://www.joshvon.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:10 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:10 pm
Posts: 3352
Personally I use the IAC found in mac, but this needs to be seen by all!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 7:14 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 3:18 pm
Posts: 623
Location: Northern CA, USA
Can Tracks not be triggered from assigned MIDI notes/sequence//loop or controllers?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 7:19 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 396
Location: Germany
Thanks a lot for this tip, Conny! I was wondering why it works at all but the secret is to have no stop buttons on the track controlling the others. Live is so full of possibilities... :D

Lofa, good idea to use IAC. I'm used to use MidiPipe for everything. But IAC is just much easier to use in this case. (First time I ever used it. :oops: )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 7:44 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:10 pm
Posts: 3352
TheAnimal wrote:
Lofa, good idea to use IAC. I'm used to use MidiPipe for everything. But IAC is just much easier to use in this case. (First time I ever used it. :oops: )


I take no credit. This is all the work of Nixon Hambone and Machinate (and of course Conny!)

I just felt it deserves some more exposure immediately.


http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 167#210167

There should be stickies (imo)

Edit: please include Hoffman2k in this list! I was so careful to put Nixon, who I seldom interact with that I forgot one of the most important playa's!


Last edited by LOFA on Thu Dec 29, 2005 7:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 12:58 am 

Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:22 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
supster wrote:
I tend to write using clip lengths of 4 bars. So I normally think in terms of trigging the next row of clips every 4 bars. Often I'm not really looking to have to trigger them 'live', manually ...


Hi supster,
I haven't checked out the midi yoke method, but if conny did it I bet it's cool. :) However, can't you just do what you say above by having the same follow action in each track set to four bars? Basically when you launch the first scene, the 4 bar follow action will trigger the next scene down (or whatever you program it to do) after 4 bars (if you program it to do that).

Or am I missing something from your post? I may not have understood what you're looking for.
HTH :)

_________________
MacBook Pro Retina, Live 8, Reason, UC33, Tascam US122, KRK RP5s, Korg Prophecy, Alesis SR16, Guitars.
http://soundcloud.com/telekomglasgow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 1:46 am 

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Posts: 11650
Location: Denmark
LOFA wrote:
I take no credit. This is all the work of Nixon Hambone and Machinate (and of course Conny!)

I just felt it deserves some more exposure immediately.


http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 167#210167

also, don't forget hoffman2k :)
We've actually had lenghty discussions on this topic a while back, I wonder if someone could dig up the most informative one, and add it to hoffman2ks list?

_________________
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 7:51 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:10 pm
Posts: 3352
Machinate wrote:
LOFA wrote:
I take no credit. This is all the work of Nixon Hambone and Machinate (and of course Conny!)

I just felt it deserves some more exposure immediately.


http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 167#210167

also, don't forget hoffman2k :)
We've actually had lenghty discussions on this topic a while back, I wonder if someone could dig up the most informative one, and add it to hoffman2ks list?
:oops: All taken care of!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:07 am 

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 396
Location: Germany
LOFA wrote:
I take no credit.


So you're getting the credit of repeating it exactly when I needed it! :wink:

The biggest problem when information is abundant is retrieval. Unfortunately I am no exception to that rule.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:14 am 

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Posts: 5346
Location: Abu Dhabi
I'm building all of my lighting, video, and surround sequencing and control in Live using the IAC driver technique. Combined with follow actions, I'm getting faster at sequencing custom choreographed lighting and video for each audio track.

So much to do... so little time... no more new ideas, please Conny, Machinate & Hoffman2K! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:03 am 

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Posts: 11650
Location: Denmark
hambone1 wrote:
So much to do... so little time... no more new ideas, please Conny, Machinate & Hoffman2K! :wink:
hehe, that really only depends on the feature sets included in Live 5.1 (shouldn't be that long until we see that) and Live 6, in 6-7 months - we start doing the tricks in the beta-period :wink:

_________________
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:14 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14473
Location: Belgium
Machinate wrote:
hambone1 wrote:
So much to do... so little time... no more new ideas, please Conny, Machinate & Hoffman2K! :wink:
hehe, that really only depends on the feature sets included in Live 5.1 (shouldn't be that long until we see that) and Live 6, in 6-7 months - we start doing the tricks in the beta-period :wink:


I already got tricks for features that are not implemented yet.
I don't know if they will ever be implemented....
But it wouldn't be the first time that we need to figure out a work-around. :wink:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group