Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:07 am

ameliablack wrote:hmm, adding that to line 514 seemed to have disabled the entire script in live. was i supposed to just copy and paste the commands into the script without replacing anything?
python is kind of hard with indentation and it's really easy to break the script. PM your email and i can send a version the will do this (next week)

cheers

Geminiclub
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by Geminiclub » Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:44 pm

This is great! Thank so much for your work!

One question though- Is it possible to disable the device controls so I can use User 1 for other instruments?

skunkworkz
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 1:06 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by skunkworkz » Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:48 am

^ Its only active when you press User 1 twice. It doesn't interfere with the standard script.

mots, how exactly is the scale mode working??

mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:18 am

skunkworkz wrote:mots, how exactly is the scale mode working??
Scale Mode : Press and hold the scale mode button and press note on the grid to show/hide rows.
release to activate.
press shortly to toggle on/off.
By default it this mode is in C major.

While you have scale mode pressed, the last four columns of each row light up in green (note active) or red (note hidden). you can activate or desactivate one note by pressing any button on that row.

also while playing with max4live (1st time !) i noticed quite a few bugs here and there. i'll try to fix asap

cheers

carrieres
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:54 am
Location: Poissy, France
Contact:

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by carrieres » Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:19 pm

awesome, thanks you very much
Yamaha CS-30, Roland SH-1 and MKS70, Focusrite Scarlett 18i6, Yamaha FS1R, Oberheim Matrix 1000, Novation Remote 37SL, Alesis M1Active 520, Novation Launchpad PRO
Intel i7-7700HQ, Windows 10, Ableton Live 10 Suite
http://soundcloud.com/ccarrieres

skunkworkz
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 1:06 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by skunkworkz » Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:37 pm

cool.

How do i open this in max4live?

S4racen
Posts: 5196
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by S4racen » Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:42 pm

you dont, its not max4live!

Cheers
D

skunkworkz
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 1:06 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by skunkworkz » Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:27 pm

It says support for M4L, how does that work?

Sorry I'm a novice lol

mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:20 am

skunkworkz wrote:It says support for M4L, how does that work?

Sorry I'm a novice lol
it means it works with max for live. just like the original script did. check the ableton live manual on that matter.

edit:
i fixed one bug and updated the script on my site : i remapped the midi channels for stepseq and device controller.
i also found that step seq might be not useable while using some max4Live device (like the novation step sequencer, but who cares ;))
Last edited by mots on Fri Feb 03, 2012 7:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

drchoc
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by drchoc » Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:01 pm

Wow, so slick and easy. It adds a lot to the usefulness of the launchpad.

Thank you!

8)

modecai
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by modecai » Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:05 am

I was finding that i couldn't change devices in user mode 1 with 8.2.8... anybody else experiencing this?

mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:48 am

modecai wrote:I was finding that i couldn't change devices in user mode 1 with 8.2.8... anybody else experiencing this?
actually user mode 1 should actually not have navigation buttons at all.

but there is a bug that want to address.

if possible i would love to have track navigation and overdub + record button on nav buttons... for a future update.

modecai
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by modecai » Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:30 pm

before, in user 1 i could navigate between devices... like go from one efx rack to another... or was that all in my head?

edit: so its working now haha

skunkworkz
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 1:06 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by skunkworkz » Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:17 am

Is it possible to have an up/down/left/right, shift, ctrl, alt enter buttons etc or does the api not allow for that?

If not, can it be done with max4live and how would i go about doing it?
I'd really like to learn M4L just for this type of thing but it seems a lot more difficult than I thought it would be lol

skunkworkz
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 1:06 pm

Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl

Post by skunkworkz » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:45 am

any news ???

Post Reply