A few beginners questions.

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
TmanRocksTheBoat

A few beginners questions.

Post by TmanRocksTheBoat » Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:34 pm

Hey Everyone,

I am fairly new to Ableton and learning a lot through theses forums and other various tutorials. I'm really new to using audio samples and haven't been able to find basic answers to a few things. I think I understand the basics to using an audio file (a drum loop, for example), chopping it to MIDI and creating your own beat. Where I'm stuck are the single note .wavs. I have some beautiful samples of one held note (A1) and would like to use that for multiple notes. Is this possible without grossly distorting the sample? If not, how are the single notes/drum hits useful?

Willyum

Re: A few beginners questions.

Post by Willyum » Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:36 pm

Like Funken said, it will distort if you go too far from root. If you need the sound to be clean as possible over multiple octaves, and you only have one copy of the instrument sound what you can do is drop the note in arrange view... copy and paste it 4 times next to itself (give it different colors so you don't get confused)... Now you have 5 copies of the same note. Use the middle one as your raw sample (if it's a middle tone... if not, think of the 5 clips as your keyboard and select which ever one would be closest to what the note is)

Ok, now the clips to the left and right tune up and down in their perspective octaves +12, +24, -12,-24 leaving the middle one as is. Erase any transients the note may have within (actually you can do this even before copying so you don't have to do each one) then audition each clip while adjusting the warp mode to get the proper sound (complex mode is a good place to start)