snap to grid in when using adaptive grid

Please join the new beta forum at https://ableton.centercode.com/login.html
Locked
nathannn
Posts: 3310
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

snap to grid in when using adaptive grid

Post by nathannn » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:41 am

snapping to the grid when using the adaptive grid only works once in a while, most of the time snapping using adaptive is like using slip mode.
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: snap to grid in when using adaptive grid

Post by [mal] » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:51 pm

Hi

Can you give us steps to reproduce this, or hints on how to achieve this state?

Anyone else seeing this issue?

Best,
mads

[nis]
Posts: 578
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:31 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: snap to grid in when using adaptive grid

Post by [nis] » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:53 pm

Just to clarify, here's the way it should behave in Live 9 (for both, fixed and adaptive grids):

- When starting from a grid line, you can move notes freely between the previous and next grid line.
- Once you reach the previous / next grid line, it will snap to it and from then on it will always hard-snap to all other grid lines.

- When starting from an off-grid position, you can move notes freely between the previous and next grid line.
- Once you reach the previous / next grid line, it will stick to it and from then on it will always hard-snap to all other grid lines, as well as to the respective offset position.

Best,
Nico
Nico Starke
Ableton Product Team

Locked