"Making your own music"

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
garryliu

"Making your own music"

Post by garryliu » Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:38 am

Can anyone give me their thoughts on this?

So Im fairly new to music production. Ive very passionate and I have been blessed with parents that have given me some great studio equipment.
I recently asked an artist that I admire to collab (Mainly to learn) I even offered to give him full credit for the end product
He initially accepted but then turned me down. Saying that I do not create my own art. And because I have used samples, I am stealing the art of many hard working artists.
I dont wish to do that or steal others work to call my own. I really didnt know that using samples and stuff was wrong.
So can someone explain to if I am creating my own art or not. Or have I been stealing others works.

Also, where can I start to "Make my own art". Where do I learn Melody production, or beat making, or any of that. I really want to learn and I feel like I just need to be pointed in the right direction.

Thanks, Garry

yur2die4

Re: "Making your own music"

Post by yur2die4 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:26 am

There are a lot of avenues you can take. Using samples is an artform in itself but if you were to Release any of that material, you could find yourself in trouble. Although if it is for personal use, you can usually get away with it.

The most important thing is, go whatever direction inspires you most. Roll with it. If you're curious about theory and beats, focus on it for a bit. If samples are really fun, play around. The thing you gain from playing with things that DO inspire you, No Matter What they are, is experience. As you gain more experience through practice you develop an ear, and problem solving techniques.

So just do whatever you want. And you'll learn from it. You'll become you. The worst thing you can do is let fear freeze you in your tracks.

muthafunka

Post by muthafunka » Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:20 am