recording triplets

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
sebastian_renix
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 11:48 pm
Location: Kingston, NY

recording triplets

Post by sebastian_renix » Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:17 am

Firstly, I've done some searching in the Forum and the manual and can't find the information I'm looking for. I feel kinda silly cause I know this app inside and out and I tried something very simple tonight for the first time and am getting very frustrated....

I want to record a MIDI part that uses both 16th notes and 8th note triplets. I've tried over and over again and Live never plays back what I record in. I try quantizing on every possible setting and I just can't get it right. Is this something that Live just can't do?

Thanks in advance for the help on the very silly question.
-Dave

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Fri Jun 10, 2005 8:47 am

well, you can't have your recording quantized to 16th and 8 triplets at the same time, unfortunately.
you have to change the "record quantization" in the edit menu accordingly, but since 16 and 8T only have the downbeat in common, it's either one or the other.

it really is a shame, and i asked ableton to make a drop down menu available from the main interface during Live4 beta-testing, but the menu is still burried deeply.

and another thing: i hate these Live functions that are available only through menus. since i work most of the time in full screen, it always means hundreds of clicks and keys before being able to do what i want (namely: record quantize and preferences).
maybe the new Live5 right click enabled will help us!

Robert Henke
Posts: 1193
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Berlin

Post by Robert Henke » Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:11 am

Guys, which record quantisation options would you need ?

8 th
8th and 8th tripplets
16 th
16th and 16th tripplets

or

8th
8th tripplets and 16th
16th
16th tripplets and 32th

or
8th
8th and 8th tripplets
16th and 8th tripplets
16th
16th and 16th tripplets
32 th
32th and 16th tripplets

? or anything else ???

Robert Henke / Ableton

conny
Posts: 3237
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by conny » Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:06 pm

Make the "or" an "and", and it will be OK. 8)
// C
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:44 pm

Robert Henke wrote:Guys, which record quantisation options would you need ?

8 th
8th and 8th tripplets
16 th
16th and 16th tripplets

or

8th
8th tripplets and 16th
16th
16th tripplets and 32th

or
8th
8th and 8th tripplets
16th and 8th tripplets
16th
16th and 16th tripplets
32 th
32th and 16th tripplets

? or anything else ???

Robert Henke / Ableton
i think the choices avilable inL4 are ok (i don't think that mixing straights and triplets is a good idea), i'd just like it to be mapable or accessible through shortcuts or available on the main screen.

jack rock
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:12 pm
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Contact:

Post by jack rock » Fri Jun 10, 2005 1:32 pm

I would like the possibility to customize the quantization template - like you can in Logic with groove templates.

MrYellow
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:10 am
Contact:

Post by MrYellow » Fri Jun 10, 2005 2:43 pm

Yeah maybe rather than 101 "this and this and this and that" it would be
better to have it all under one entry.....

1. Click Custom in dropdown
2. Popup sequencer of sorts.......

Presets loadable (this is where you can have the 8th tripplets and 16ths
etc), midi importable, steps adjustable/editable..... Covers groove quatise,
mixed patterns and the like with a fairly simple interface......

p.s. I haven't seen Live4.... but sounds right.....

-Ben

MrYellow
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:10 am
Contact:

Post by MrYellow » Sat Jun 11, 2005 1:02 am

Scratch the suggestion of a popup, that doesn't fit the Live interface paradigm.....

I'm unsure how MIDI tracks look currently, but something like this might do it.

You have a "tab" (like the envelope on audio tracks) in MIDI
tracks, "Quantise".... This tab has an adjustable loop length like
envelopes. Inside this area you can mark where notes will be quantised to,
with markers/grid/snap being set from a dropdown.

So for 16ths, I can set a 1 beat loop, and mark 4x 16ths.
For 16ths in bar 1 and 16T in bar 2 I can make a 2 bar loop.
For on the beat 1,3 off the beat 2,4.....
For perfectly on the beat 1,3, slightly late 2,4....

Load presets, import midi, etc etc.....

-Ben

adhmzaiusz
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 12:32 am
Location: the country side outside of Toronto

Post by adhmzaiusz » Sat Jun 11, 2005 6:05 am

control(PC) (apple button) 3 turns triplet grid on and off. simply select the notes you want to quantize, and hit control(apple button) U. make sure you have selected your desired record quantization under edit menu

hit control (applebutton) 3 again to switch back to quarter note grid.

control(or apple) 1 increases quantize amount, and control 2 decreases if you wanna get friendly with keyshortcuts

if that doesnt solve your problem idk what will
Last edited by adhmzaiusz on Sat Jun 11, 2005 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

MrYellow
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:10 am
Contact:

Post by MrYellow » Sat Jun 11, 2005 6:26 am

The idea they're getting at is to do it as recording....

So you set the quantise so that 16ths and 8T are accepted, record....
Where you play on a 16th it gets quantised to that, where you play closer
to a triple it gets quantised to that..... So it's a mix of both.

-Ben

adhmzaiusz
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 12:32 am
Location: the country side outside of Toronto

Post by adhmzaiusz » Sat Jun 11, 2005 6:30 am

MrYellow wrote:The idea they're getting at is to do it as recording....

So you set the quantise so that 16ths and 8T are accepted, record....
Where you play on a 16th it gets quantised to that, where you play closer
to a triple it gets quantised to that..... So it's a mix of both.

-Ben
thats interesting i didnt know that sequencers did that(or maybe i never really noticed when using them)...hmm would be handy
Image

MrYellow
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:10 am
Contact:

Post by MrYellow » Sat Jun 11, 2005 6:46 am

They don't :-D ..... Well I guess groove might, but the groove features are
never well explained or well designed.

Live could be the first to make a really good quantise feature that is
flexible and actually works.

-Ben

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Sat Jun 11, 2005 8:23 am

!!!!!!!!!! :D


I'd like to see three new options,

8ths and 8T

16ths and 8T

16ths and 16T


AND:
a rec quantize on/off button that's
- easily accesable (somewhere on the main GUI, doesn't have to be big) and
- midi-remotable

OR:
a way to disable or set the record quantize for individual tracks



When I'm doing sessions with other musicians I get midi from a drummer (that should be unquantized), me (I'd like 16ths+8T) and maybe other musos that like straight 16ths. Right now I can't do all that in the same session without diving into menus all the time, and I certainly can't do it realtime.

If something could be done to settle this, I'm buying champagne and bears for the entire staff of Ableton AG :twisted:
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Sat Jun 11, 2005 12:00 pm

while we're on the subject: i still don't get why the midi notes are not quantized when recorded in the arrangement.
sometimes they are, but most of the time they aren't, and i can't figure out why and how.

mike holiday
Posts: 2433
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: NOW

Post by mike holiday » Sat Jun 11, 2005 12:08 pm

peeddrroo wrote:it always means hundreds of clicks and keys before being able to do what i want (namely: record quantize and preferences).
hate 2 jack the thread but i get prefrences by hitting "apple ,"
no key short cut to open prefs in windows?

Post Reply