Start making music

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Rubygunz

Start making music

Post by Rubygunz » Wed Jul 08, 2015 3:59 am

Hey guys, i want to start in music production, I've posted in this foam before, and i got good answers but now I'm looking for something more in depth. Im currently in college and i go for English, yeah i know completely different from music, but music is something I've always adored and i really want to make it but i just don't know how, i can't apply for any music school programs because i have no knowledge. Id rather learn it on my own and I'm ready to dedicate endless hours and times to gaining this new skill, but where do i start? I know absolutely nothing. Do i start with learning music theory? how to read music? how about when i get a daw, how will i learn what all those buttons do and what those words mean? How did you guys learn it? anything will be helpful, thank you.

antarktika

Re: Start making music

Post by antarktika » Wed Jul 08, 2015 4:49 am

Rubygunz wrote:but where do i start?
open Ableton
Rubygunz wrote:Do i start with learning music theory?
if you want, it can certainly be helpful
Rubygunz wrote:how to read music?
probably less important
Rubygunz wrote:how about when i get a daw, how will i learn what all those buttons do and what those words mean?
RTFM
Rubygunz wrote:How did you guys learn it?
opened Live, messed around, wondered "how do I do that?" looked for answers, RTFM, repeated those steps hundreds of times.

yur2die4

Post by yur2die4 » Wed Jul 08, 2015 4:57 am

If you can find the record button and the volume faders in a program, you are in a good position. (Even better if you know how to load instruments and sounds)

After that, you keep making music, but each time you try to figure out more and more what is going on.