mixer?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Pieter-91

mixer?

Post by Pieter-91 » Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:09 pm

Hey you guys,

I've got a question.
I'm using some analog synths for a while now, and i use Ableton for the effects on them.
Problem is that analog synths are pretty addictive, so it means i'm getting more and more of them. :p
My question now is, what mixer should be the best option if i want the following things.

- Connect al the synths to the mixer.
- A separate channel for each synth in Live
- Maybe even route channels from Live to the outboard mixer, so i can control them there.

Any help here, it's not that i'm not good at this stuff.
I just don't have enough knowledge about mixers in conjunction with a daw.

Oh yeah, and i'm on a budget. :p (aaaand there i blew it, haha)

Greetings
Pieter

Stromkraft

Re: mixer?

Post by Stromkraft » Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:20 pm

Pieter-91 wrote:Hey you guys,

I've got a question.
I'm using some analog synths for a while now, and i use Ableton for the effects on them.
Problem is that analog synths are pretty addictive, so it means i'm getting more and more of them. :p
My question now is, what mixer should be the best option if i want the following things.

- Maybe even route channels from Live to the outboard mixer, so i can control them there.
You could do this is multiple ways, but personally I'd go for all digital mixing in Live and using a Mackie or another mixer controller for controlling the Live mixer. For the inputs from the synths and other sound sources I'd rely on an audio interface with as many inputs I'd need. RME Audio or Metric Halo comes to mind (though never used the latter with Live).

If you're more into a complete audio mixer I'd suggest looking at Allen & Heath, Mackie or similar. We got a Mackie in the studio but hardly use it for mixing as there is no reliable recall really in that particular model.