Hot! Tip! Sweet, Cheapest controller for live!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Petteri Karjalainen
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:31 am
Contact:

Hot! Tip! Sweet, Cheapest controller for live!

Post by Petteri Karjalainen » Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:46 am

Image

Hi
Recently my mate got himself this peavey studiomix control surface for 80€.
It was designed to work specifically with Cakewalk 8 back in 1999 and it is in a metal case with motorized (!) faders. These units are now floating about the internet dirt cheap because this unit sends NRPN instead of CC, but with an app called studiomixmap you can convert the NRPN to CC and assign each fader, knob and toggle switch to a CC, which you can then send to ableton live, and back from ableton live to the unit to get motorized faders working!

Me and this mate of mine performed a live gig where he was using the studiomix with ableton live and it worked so fantastic, I decided to get one too.. so I searched on the net and on some forums, and some generous soul form the states sent me this unit for free because it had been collecting dust on the shelves for the last 6 years !

The unit has 9 motorized faders, 18 endless knobs, 19 toggle switches and a jog wheel, and like I said it's in a metal case so it is fawking sturdy for stage performances.

I've seen these units go for about 80USD-100USD .. so if you're on a tight budget .. this is _definately_ a worthy product to check out....
Image
Ableton Live 2->
Macbook C2D 2.0ghz/4gb ram
RME Fireface 400
Ambient Sequencer AS-606

braj
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:35 am
Contact:

Post by braj » Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:53 am

I had one, sold it and got a UC-33e instead. It is a great unit though but I hated relying on Midi Ox and StudioMixMap. And it was a bit big for my workspace. But yeah, that thing is sturdy! And motorized faders are groovy. It also has a built-in rudimentary mixer with XLR too. Too bad you can't map the scrubber in Live4 (can you in 5 I wonder?).

I remember why I really got rid of it, I couldn't get it to work right in Tracktion! Now that I'm stoked about Live5 and T2 is sitting idle most of the time, I'm missing the big beast. Damn, I should have held onto it. It did work nicely with Live.

Petteri Karjalainen
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:31 am
Contact:

Post by Petteri Karjalainen » Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:56 am

you dont need midiOX at all if you have midioverlan installed ...stable as hell :)
Image
Ableton Live 2->
Macbook C2D 2.0ghz/4gb ram
RME Fireface 400
Ambient Sequencer AS-606

Post Reply