Roli Blocks

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
chapelier fou
Posts: 5264
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Roli Blocks

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:43 pm

EDIT : now WORKING with M4L.
I can't make my pad work in M4L. It works well with plain Max, or in edit mode. Is this normal ?
Last edited by chapelier fou on Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Tarekith
Posts: 17671
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by Tarekith » Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:31 pm

Don't the Roli blocks use MPE, which isn't supported in Live (and thus M4L)?
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering

hyperscientist
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:37 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by hyperscientist » Wed Nov 30, 2016 10:14 pm

chapelier fou wrote:I can't make my pad work in M4L. It works well with plain Max, or in edit mode. Is this normal ?
Don't worry, Ableton is on it (it was semi-officially confirmed here on this forum) and MPE support will be in Live within few years, so very very soon…

Tarekith
Posts: 17671
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by Tarekith » Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:20 am

Where was it semi-officially confirmed?
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering

chapelier fou
Posts: 5264
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by chapelier fou » Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:36 pm

Damn. The Roli blocks are indeed unusable with Live.
I just throw my money out the window.
That was not mentioned clearly anywhere.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

stringtapper
Posts: 6280
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by stringtapper » Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:50 pm

chapelier fou wrote:Damn. The Roli blocks are indeed unusable with Live.
I just throw my money out the window.
That was not mentioned clearly anywhere.
Huh? The tech specs on their page say it's only compatible with iOS, so I'm not even sure where you got the idea that it would work with any desktop OS application…?
Unsound Designer

chapelier fou
Posts: 5264
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by chapelier fou » Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:54 pm

stringtapper wrote:
chapelier fou wrote:Damn. The Roli blocks are indeed unusable with Live.
I just throw my money out the window.
That was not mentioned clearly anywhere.
Huh? The tech specs on their page say it's only compatible with iOS, so I'm not even sure where you got the idea that it would work with any desktop OS application…?
https://developer.roli.com
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

stringtapper
Posts: 6280
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by stringtapper » Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:24 pm

chapelier fou wrote:https://developer.roli.com
But notice that Max For Live and Live are mentioned nowhere on the page.

My guess is that if it isn't some huge task then Ableton is probably already looking into ways to make this work with M4L.
Unsound Designer

S4racen
Posts: 5463
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by S4racen » Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:28 pm

There's a Max package for it on the cycling website i think? But then Max does support MPE...

Cheers
D

chapelier fou
Posts: 5264
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by chapelier fou » Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:54 pm

I've of course downloaded the blocks package. It's amazing, with plain Max. Doesn't work with M4L. And caused a lot of crashes when trying to establish a connection.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

hyperscientist
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:37 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by hyperscientist » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:07 pm

Tarekith wrote:Where was it semi-officially confirmed?
Actually I took your word for it - you wrote somewhere that Ableton is aware and surely planing something about it. And then I thought it's semi-offical, because you claim to be forum admin :)

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2340
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by [jur] » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:23 pm

hyperscientist wrote:
Tarekith wrote:Where was it semi-officially confirmed?
Actually I took your word for it - you wrote somewhere that Ableton is aware and surely planing something about it. And then I thought it's semi-offical, because you claim to be forum admin :)
Erik was a drug-addict at that time, forget what he said :lol:
Ableton Forum Moderator

chapelier fou
Posts: 5264
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:12 pm

I have nothing about jokes, but it's frustrating to see people from ableton writing in this topic and still have no info.
Anything we should know ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Tarekith
Posts: 17671
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by Tarekith » Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:08 am

hyperscientist wrote:
Tarekith wrote:Where was it semi-officially confirmed?
Actually I took your word for it - you wrote somewhere that Ableton is aware and surely planing something about it. And then I thought it's semi-offical, because you claim to be forum admin :)
What I said actually was:

"This thread and MPE requests have not been ignored, Ableton is aware there is high demand for this feature."

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=69095&p=1708911&hil ... e#p1708911

There was never any implication that Ableton has a new release coming soon with this supported (or not). IF it ever gets implemented in Live, it will be announced like any other new feature. Ableton doesn't discuss possible new features before they are actually released. My original comment stands, the developers are well aware that a lot of people want MPE in Live.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering

hyperscientist
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:37 pm

Re: Roli Blocks

Post by hyperscientist » Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:11 am

Tarekith wrote:There was never any implication that Ableton has a new release coming soon with this supported (or not).
Yes yes, I understood it correctly :) When I wrote "will be in Live within few years" I meant it as a sarcasm - if it was to come within few years (more then say 1-2) then I would actually consider it a bit arrogant (or start to believe conspiracy theories that Ableton does it to push Push to people as the only compatible poly aftertouch / multidimensional device).

Although I have no doubts that at some point Live will have that feature (it would be plain stupid otherwise) my intention was to relieve people from having hope that it will happen any time soon :)

I can clearly see that I am not nearly as witty as I thought I am so I'll stop trying with sarcasm on this forum in the future :) Sorry for confusion.

Post Reply