Midi Remote Scripts Community and Playhead feedback problems

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
cylab

Midi Remote Scripts Community and Playhead feedback problems

Post by cylab » Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:47 am

Hi there

I am new to Ableton and bought myself am APC40 MK2. I am trying to migrate the Step Sequencer of Will Marshall (http://forum.djtechtools.com/showthread.php?t=84554) to Ableton 9.7.

I have it roughly working by frankensteining code from Martin Pechmanns APC400000, but I don't get any button highlight on played drums and also there is no running light showing the playhead position in the steps. When I was searching for answers, I was quite shocked, that there doesn't seem to be a community for Ableton Remote Scripts anywhere. Am I searching in the wrong places or is nobody doing scripts??? If so, why is that?

Anyway. I seem to not understand the concept of feedback channels here. I assume these are the midi channels over which the current played note gets sent back to the device. But why do they need to be set and how and why do they differ from the midi channel selected for a track? Or something is missing in the APCDrumGroupComponents (https://github.com/cylab/APCequencer/bl ... mponent.py)

If anybody could point me to some more information or a vivid community forum for this stuff, I would be thankful. So far I found:
- Hanz Petrov's site: http://remotescripts.blogspot.de/
- Julien Bayle's site: http://julienbayle.net/ableton-live-9-m ... e-scripts/
- Martin Pechmann's APC400000: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=217646&p=1675572&hi ... 0#p1675572

My git repo with the partly working Step Sequencer for the APC40 MK2 is here:
(needs to be checked out to <Ableton-Live>/Resources/MIDI Remote Scripts/APCequencer)
https://github.com/cylab/APCequencer

It depends on the 9.2 version of Push scripts I put in here
(needs to be checked out to <Ableton-Live>/Resources/MIDI Remote Scripts/_PushLegacy)
https://github.com/cylab/_PushLegacy