Cannot hear exported .wav file of recording

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
CityShoes

Cannot hear exported .wav file of recording

Post by CityShoes » Sat Jan 20, 2018 10:25 pm

I am a noob, trying to record my own music. I tried to Export a three-track set, and it seemed to go fine, but when I try to play the .wav file it tracks like it is playing, but there is no sound. I have one previous track that plays, and I cannot find a difference in any of the properties or settings. Does anyone have an idea about why no sound? Thanks.

mikb

Re: Cannot hear exported .wav file of recording

Post by mikb » Sat Jan 20, 2018 10:26 pm

CityShoes wrote:I am a noob, trying to record my own music. I tried to Export a three-track set, and it seemed to go fine, but when I try to play the .wav file it tracks like it is playing, but there is no sound. I have one previous track that plays, and I cannot find a difference in any of the properties or settings. Does anyone have an idea about why no sound? Thanks.
Likely the bars you exported contain nothing. Where are the clips? In Arrangement or Session?
Basic gear info: Macbook Pro with macOS 10.12, Ableton Live Suite version 9 (64bit) with Ozone, Push and APC20 as controllers.

arretx

Post by arretx » Thu Jan 25, 2018 5:50 am

This is always an audio routing issue. Select the starting and ending points of what you're going to record, then loop it so the loop brace is surrounding what you selected (at the top of the timeline.)

Make sure that each track's audio out is routed to the correct location, and when you export, make sure that the audio track you've chosen is either the Master or a group that you've created.

Before you export, click the loop brace to select all of your "loop."

Export.

Also make sure that you have your (IN/AUTO/OFF) set correctly on each track.