Buffer/CPU load gone bonkers in the middle of a live show

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
IvanJones

Buffer/CPU load gone bonkers in the middle of a live show

Post by IvanJones » Tue Mar 03, 2020 4:51 pm

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1HPRaj ... nkQRf7O4Hb

The video explains everything and shows some of the issue.

Basically I had to cancel the second half of my show, it was really bad.

I have been running live with a 128 bit buffer for six months, zero issue witch cpu load up until about 70-80% when using the cpu load test tone.

I have been running the current version of my performance set for at least two weeks, again with zero buffer or cpu issues. My average load is 24% resting and around 35% when running multiple loopers and playing vst's.

I was in the middle of making a scene of loops when I cut a guitar loop and it came out all sorts of fucked up. Sounded like the buffer was not handling it. The weird thing is that my guitar was playing through just fine, it was only the buffer output that had artifacts. I tried a few times to re-cut the loop and it kept coming out distorted when it began to loop. A minute later, and now my guitar was no longer playing through clean, it was now affected by the buffer issue before AND after the looper. Mind you while all this is happening I am several feet away from my computer only sending midi notes from my stomp to control my looper, absolutely nothing else in the program was touched. I noticed that my CPU load had nearly doubled from what I was used to.

I rebooted ableton and was able to play through and cut loops fine for about thirty seconds when the same issue happened again. Buffer distortion.

I rebooted the computer and tried again. This time, I didn't even get a grace period of clean sound, everything was distorted from the get go.