Focusrite Scarlett Solo - issues with browser and VLC

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Zauberer

Focusrite Scarlett Solo - issues with browser and VLC

Post by Zauberer » Sat Feb 06, 2021 2:11 pm

Hi,

sorry for the dumb question. I've been using my Focusrite Scarlett Solo for a few months and I am still learning how to grasp the basics. So far I managed to use it perfectly with Ableton and I'm able to hear perfectly my recordings.

However, the issue shows up when I'm trying to use my Solo in order to listen to stuff being reproduced by Google Chrome (such as a Youtube Video) or by VLC. What I get is a muffled sound, not unlike what you could get when "Master" is selected in Ableton instead of "Ext Out 2" (the setting I need to use to listen to what I just recorded). I'm using Windows 8.

I selected Focusrite as default device when it comes to play audio and I've been also trying with different sample rates from Focusrite Control, sadly without any result. The audio is still terrible and it feels like being underwater.

I am pretty sure that there is some basic setting I do not know about, but I have no idea what I should do in order to have the audio from other softwares processed by my Scarlett Solo.

Does anyone know how to fix this issue? Thank you in advance!

EDIT: if this could be of any help, for some reason the audio works fine when Youtube is playing, for example, a clean guitar. In that case Solo is able to reproduce it perfectly, before going back to muffled sounds for basically everything else.

Mark Williams

Re: Focusrite Scarlett Solo - issues with browser and VLC

Post by Mark Williams » Sat Feb 06, 2021 2:22 pm

Enusre you are using the same settings for Windows and the Focusrite, sample rates etc, they must match exactly or you get issues.
Live 11, M1 Mac Mini, Push 2, Scarlett 18i20 & ADA8200, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind12, Hydrasynth, Cobalt 8M, Moog Subsequent 25, IK Uno Synth Pro, Plethora X3, Nord Drum 3P

Zauberer