Stupid Mastering Questions <3

Discuss anything related to audio or music production.
gallagherf

Stupid Mastering Questions <3

Post by gallagherf » Wed Nov 16, 2022 9:26 pm

Hey y'all,

Ive been trying myself in mastering/mixing and all this fun stuff.. (bc as a student i cant pay anonye else to do it)

Here are my questions/problems:

1. The audio effect "Master EQ" seems amazing as it sounds like one effect is mastering my whole song. Is it meant to be only put on the Master-Stem or on every single stem?

2. I tried to put EQ,Compressor (&EQ Master) on every single stem that i have and I felt like it distorted the sound or "broke" the vocals or sth- it sounds weird now... is there such a thing that too many audio effects will impact the recording/distort it?

3.What are your main mixing mastering advices with ableton? How do i get my song to a competetive volume in digital streaming age?

4. When I like the sound of my mp3 and put it like that on Spotify. Will it sound differently on Spotify?

5. When I like the sound of my Mix digitally.. and press a CD.. will it sound on the CD just as good as it sounds on my headphones/computer?

Sorry for alle the probably "stupid" questions.. but really struggling here.... and I know I should pay a professional to Master.. but this student is on a budget.. and after all.. id love to learn more about it

Thank you so much for any help!!

Tarekith

Re: Stupid Mastering Questions <3

Post by Tarekith » Wed Nov 16, 2022 9:41 pm

1. The audio effect "Master EQ" seems amazing as it sounds like one effect is mastering my whole song. Is it meant to be only put on the Master-Stem or on every single stem?

>>>Usually anything labelled "master" is only meant to be on the master channel, but of course in music there are no rules so follow your ears if it sounds better another way. <<<