Control MIDI Start / Stop messages

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Raphaël D

Control MIDI Start / Stop messages

Post by Raphaël D » Mon Mar 27, 2023 2:44 pm

Hi,

I've been trying to make my Arturia Microfreak play ball with Live for quite some time.
I'm no MIDI expert but i believe it should be easier than how it's currently working.
Using any arp or seq is unreliable since the MF needs a START message from the midi clock to start the sequence from the beggining.
Of course if you play from 1.1.1 it works just fine but I'm not sampling everything from back there with no musical context.

My MF is connected through USB, audio signal through 3.5.
I use Live's external instrument plugin to send midi and receive signal from the MF

My settings are as followed:

On the MicroFreak
MIDI
Input Chan : 1 / Output Chan : 2 / Output Dest : BOTH / Local : OFF / Arp/Seq midi out : ON / Thru : On / Merge : Both+KBD
SYNC
Source : USB / Clock : 24PPQ / Global Temp : OFF

On Live midi settings : Microfreak Input Track is ON, Ouput Track and Sync are ON

Some dude on a designated microfreak group said I need to understand Midi to use the MF, and didn't gave me any pointers.
Am i doing something inherentely wrong ?

Or is the MicroFreak and Live not natively compatible if you want to use anything midi sync related ?
If so is there a way to force Live to send START midi signal anywhere else than 1.1.1 ?

Maybe I'm just dumb but I'd very much like to have a solution for this issue, it's preventing me from using the Microfreak Sequencer which is kind of a key feature

Cheers,

DunedinDragon

Re: Control MIDI Start / Stop messages

Post by DunedinDragon » Tue Mar 28, 2023 12:20 pm