How to Modify/Replace Templates Without Creating New Ones?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Mark Alias

How to Modify/Replace Templates Without Creating New Ones?

Post by Mark Alias » Wed May 24, 2023 10:38 pm

I'm new to Ableton, very old to sequencers and the like, so please forgive me if this is obvious, but if I save a template and then modify it, can I save the modified version to the same template or does it always create a new one?

Rivanni

Re: How to Modify/Replace Templates Without Creating New Ones?

Post by Rivanni » Thu May 25, 2023 8:41 am

Yes, you can. Select 'Save as Template' from the File menu and give it the same name. You'll get the question if you want to overwrite the existing one.

Mark Alias

Post by Mark Alias » Thu May 25, 2023 3:47 pm

Thank you. I don't get that behavior, or any ability to Save as... It just creates a new template with "-1" appended to the original name. Then, when I try to delete the new template, it doesn't get deleted in the Ableton browser, even after I confirm "Move to Trash." Yet, if I look in the Templates folder via Windows Explorer, the new one isn't there. If I then close and re-open Ableton, the deleted one no longer shows up in the browser.

Seems like something isn't working as intended, at least for me.

Windows 11, Ableton Version 11.3.2, Build 23-05-10.

Mark Alias

Post by Mark Alias » Thu May 25, 2023 11:36 pm

I confirmed that after loading a template, "Save Live Set as Template..." doesn't ask for a name but simply adds a new template by appending "-1" to the original's name. (All I wanted to do was modify an existing template.)

If you then try to delete the newly created template in the Ableton browser, you can do that multiple times yet it appears to still be there, but if you check the Documents/Ableton/Templates folder (at least on Windows), the file does actually get deleted. There's just no indication of that in the browser until you restart Ableton.