Can we PLEAAASSSEEE finally get some proper plugin window management and UX?!!

Share what you’d like to see added to Ableton Live.
geeklamb

Can we PLEAAASSSEEE finally get some proper plugin window management and UX?!!

Post by geeklamb » Fri Jun 30, 2023 3:29 am

I have recently gotten back into music production after being out of the game for almost 20 years and while certain features have blown my mind there are some features that are unbelievably exactly the same as they were then!! As a software engineer myself, I would consider many aspects of the UX surrounding plugins to be fundamentally broken and I have to say, I felt embarrassed for your product managers that this was the current state of things today. Here are some of the main issues I'm referring to...
  1. There is no way to allow plugin windows to display/autofocus/jump to the foreground based on which track/device/chain is focus at the time
  2. There is no hotkey to display the plugin window of the currently selected track/device/chain. You can only display all plugin windows that have been toggled on or not. Another track's plugin could remain at the foreground. :(
  3. There is STILL no way to universally resize plugin windows (As a result we have to rely on the plugin maker to implement basic infrastructure like this
  4. There is no way to display all plugin windows side-by-side next to each other like "Mission Control" on Mac OSX
  5. There is no universal plugin wrapper UX that allows for the quick search browser of other plugins/devices and the ability to tag and save presets accordingly (similar to NI Komplete Kontrol).