Page 1 of 1

hacking Push3's grid matrix

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2023 3:45 pm
by whatisnotrue
is there any info on how to re-configure Push 3's grid for custom sequencers / controls using Max for Live? I couldn't find any official documentation on how to do this. if anyone has any tips it would be greatly appreciated!

Re: hacking Push3's grid matrix

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2023 7:48 pm
by chapelier fou
First thing is to get Push id as a control_surface.
You can then point a live.object to this id and grab the Button_Matrix control simply by sending the "call grab_control Button_Matrix" to this live object.
If you want to observe button presses, make a live.observer. You can get the id of the Button_Matrix by sending "call get_control Button_Matrix" to the previous live.object. Then observe presses by sending "property value" to the live.observer.

Then, to handle the leds, well, I'm not sure, as I'm discovering it as I type, but have a look at the x_Clip_y_Button controls...
(call get_control_names to the control_surface is great to give you an idea of what's available).

Hope this helps.

Re: hacking Push3's grid matrix

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2023 11:53 pm
by whatisnotrue
chapelier fou wrote:
Mon Sep 04, 2023 7:48 pm
First thing is to get Push id as a control_surface.
You can then point a live.object to this id and grab the Button_Matrix control simply by sending the "call grab_control Button_Matrix" to this live object.
If you want to observe button presses, make a live.observer. You can get the id of the Button_Matrix by sending "call get_control Button_Matrix" to the previous live.object. Then observe presses by sending "property value" to the live.observer.

Then, to handle the leds, well, I'm not sure, as I'm discovering it as I type, but have a look at the x_Clip_y_Button controls...
(call get_control_names to the control_surface is great to give you an idea of what's available).

Hope this helps.
Thanks for the response. I think the issue here is that because Push 3 is automatically registered by Ableton without having to manually add it as a control surface, it does not come up as an ID-able option. At least it didn't when I tried finding it with the Max for Live API. Perhaps I am missing a step though....

Re: hacking Push3's grid matrix

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2023 1:19 am
by [jur]
whatisnotrue wrote:
Tue Sep 05, 2023 11:53 pm
it does not come up as an ID-able option.
Yes it does.
I'll share you a patch tomorrow, it's way too late now I need some sleep.

Re: hacking Push3's grid matrix

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2023 4:44 am
by chapelier fou
Push 3 does not appear in the list in the prefs, but does appear when you iter the control surfaces in max for live.

Re: hacking Push3's grid matrix

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2023 4:27 pm
by whatisnotrue
[jur] wrote:
Wed Sep 06, 2023 1:19 am
whatisnotrue wrote:
Tue Sep 05, 2023 11:53 pm
it does not come up as an ID-able option.
Yes it does.
I'll share you a patch tomorrow, it's way too late now I need some sleep.
Thank you! I have a lot of experience with Max but the Live API is totally new territory for me so i'm still trying to wrap my head around it.