creating a visual interface for live

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
Eno Gata

creating a visual interface for live

Post by Eno Gata » Fri Sep 08, 2023 10:56 am

hey everybody!

disclaimer: i'm new here, this is my first post.

i am preparing a liveset and am looking for a way to easily keep an overview of certain parameters in live that i am controlling with a midi-controller.
i am controlling a lot of effects with midi-controllers and it's hard to keep track of what effect is on or off and where the parameters are at the moment. what i am imagining is a (probably max-for-live-)device that is just a big box, doing nothing but displaying some parameters from the different effects i am using, as well as tempo and channel levels.

has anybody ever heard of something like that? or an idea how to build that? i have basic knowledge with max, so a shove in the right direction would be enough to send me digging myself. i also have an ipad that i don't use in the liveset so far, so maybe an app would be an option as well? maybe touch-osc?

all tips are much appreciated! thanks in advance and all the best!

chapelier fou

Re: creating a visual interface for live

Post by chapelier fou » Fri Sep 08, 2023 2:04 pm

Touch OSC or Mira would do the job !
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
MacStudio M1Max 32Go OS 12.3.1

Angstrom

Post by Angstrom » Sat Sep 09, 2023 10:41 am

Yeah. I made a touchscreen interface for live for stage performance in m4l

I've not used it in a couple of years because I went to the dark side (eurorack and hardware seq.). But ...

My interface is on my touchscreen laptop. It is mostly just a heads-up display for my hardware controllers . It has meters for 8 group tracks. BPM display, a big visible beat indicator. Also it shows which scene I'm in, and what clips are current and next. More stuff like that.