Output Selection Issue (Bug?)

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Clint Goss

Output Selection Issue (Bug?)

Post by Clint Goss » Tue Dec 05, 2023 1:34 pm

Newbie here, trying to simply select Stereo 1/2 for output. In the Output Config window, every time I try to select one output, it selects another output in parallel. Here's a video:

https://vimeo.com/891424467

Any ideas, suggestions, or explanations are appreciated!

-Clint Goss

Clint Goss

Re: Output Selection Issue (Bug?)

Post by Clint Goss » Tue Dec 05, 2023 7:15 pm

I'm not sure if it has anything to do with the fact that my Live Set was already using Output 1/2 ... but the issue does not seem to be specific to 1/2 ... double activation of channels happens on other pairs of ports as well.

Clint Goss

Post by Clint Goss » Thu Dec 07, 2023 8:23 am

So maybe substantially everyone uses at least two outputs (one for main out and one for cueing with metronome) that nobody had encountered this syndrome??

Clint Goss

Post by Clint Goss » Thu Dec 07, 2023 12:35 pm

Tim wrote back from Ableton Support: "This is expected behavior, as Channels 1/2 are necessary for any other inputs to be activated."

... however, I just tried this, and I can select Ch 7/8 (both Mono and Stereo) without selecting either of the Ch 1/2 options, and it works ...

I have an image of this (sent to Ableton Support), but this forum will not allow me to either upload or attach the image, or insert a link to the image in my Dropbox cloud. Sigh.

H20nly

Post by H20nly » Sat Dec 09, 2023 1:30 am

1 and 2 are typically default so you have 2 mono out... or a Stereo pair
7 or 7/8 would be 7 mono or 7/8 stereo, respectively. Most desktop type audio interfaces don’t have more than two outputs… unless you tweak headphone outputs, assuming the unit even lets you.

You can select which outs you want active in Settings in Live on the Audio tab under ‘Input Config’ and ‘Output Config’