I want my piano to sound like my piano.

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
msanjelpie

I want my piano to sound like my piano.

Post by msanjelpie » Fri Dec 22, 2023 9:56 pm

Can I record my acoustic piano into Ableton Live Suite 11 (Trial Version) and have my new recording actually sound like MY piano.

Currently I see a Grand Piano with a lot of notes and an Upright piano with 9 notes as recording options.

1) What do I choose in order to have it sound real.

2) I chose 'Upright Piano' so that I could at least hear something, but I didn't know the difference in recording between choosing C4 and C5 etc... Why are there more than one option? Does each option make the final output sound different?

3) Are there more piano options than 'Grand' and 'Upright' in the non-trial version of Suite 11 (soon to be 12)?

Thanks!! Total novice as you can tell. 8O

login

Re: I want my piano to sound like my piano.

Post by login » Sat Dec 23, 2023 1:46 am

The included Pianos are... mediocre to be honest, the number of velocity layers, the mic positions, are no the best IMHO.

If you want a more realistic Piano sound you will have to look at third parties offerings, for example Noire by Native instruments, Pianoteq and also UVI has a few that are quite better that what is included in suite.

Suite has much better synths than acoustic instruments, certainly usable sounds but not stellar.

yur2die4

Post by yur2die4 » Sat Dec 23, 2023 2:56 am

The wording of your questions is a little confusing, but that is to be expected if you’re still learning about using Live. But it’ll help to get some clarification on things.

First you mention recording ‘your’ piano. I’m not sure what you mean by this? Do you already have a piano that you use outside of Live? Do you prefer to be using audio from that piano? Or using midi in Live to trigger a software piano?