TIP: Morphing delaytimes - without automation!

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

TIP: Morphing delaytimes - without automation!

Post by Machinate » Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:19 pm

Hi all, I was working on a device chain, and came up with this little trick.

I've made a device chain that automatically morphs between a shrill 1/8th delay and a mid-range 3/16th delay - in time with the mooosic.

Here's how:

Image


As the autoPan slowly shifts between the left and right channels, it alternately feeds the slow and the fast delays - the utility plugin is there to bring everything back into the centre of the mix.
It has this interesting evolving, filter-sweepy sound to it. Very good for dub and all that, I guess. Switch to a more drastic waveform and this will totally change the rhythm of the input.
If the sound you're feeding into this chain is very wide, you can of course use a second utility plug in front to even things out.

Have fun!
Andreas
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

ben_blue
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:25 am
Location: TN | USA
Contact:

Post by ben_blue » Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:32 pm

nice idea man.

friggin sweet - cant wait to do it.
my favorites at the moment: MASSIVE. FM8. LIVE 6. Bome's Pro. KORE.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Thu Aug 18, 2005 6:07 am

great idea!

boomklik
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:12 am
Location: North America
Contact:

Post by boomklik » Thu Aug 18, 2005 6:59 am

i am impressed...thanks!

segue
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:00 am

Post by segue » Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:29 am

makes me want to get home quick...

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Thu Aug 18, 2005 11:12 am

excellent, will certainly try that one!

abledude
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:57 am
Location: Hollywood, CA

That's really good

Post by abledude » Thu Aug 18, 2005 11:47 pm

I selected all and saved it as a device group. Thank you so much.

atomic
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 9:45 pm
Location: Toronto, Can

Post by atomic » Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:03 pm

Good work!
ABIT NF7+AMDXP@2500, RME Multiface, TC Powercore Element+Virus, UAD-1, Nord Lead2, Reason2.5, impOSCar, Microtonic, Reaktor5 and some other stuff...

kornie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 12:16 pm

Post by kornie » Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:58 pm

if you ad a second autopan between the autopan and the filter delay you canget some weird results... espcially with different unsynced waveforms... great tip!


if you put the panning of the filter delay both to 0 you don't actually need the utility plugin...

8)

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:07 pm

yeah, the utility fx is there to let people mix in " a little bit of stereo" quickly, just turn the knob.
The Autopan is really a cool little FSU-unit if used creatively - or just excessively :-D
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

friend_kami
Posts: 2256
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Post by friend_kami » Thu Sep 21, 2006 9:15 am

hah, i just played around a bit with this trick in mind; checky.

http://nwrecords.com/temp/checky.als
http://nwrecords.com/temp/checky2.als

hehe.

Frantic
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:38 am
Location: outside Boston, MA

Post by Frantic » Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:01 pm

Auto-Pans.... Device Groups...

Are these terms of an updated version of Live? I'm using Live 4 and I'm either missing out on the above or it's referring to Live 5 or 6. Please advise.

ejectorset
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:01 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by ejectorset » Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:28 pm

those are things in live 5.

autopan is a new effect device. its like a tremolo/panner

device groups are a reusable chain of effect/instrument devices. like a preset that contains an impulse, compressor 1, eq 3 and simple delay with settings all as one "group", for example.
13" 2.0 gHz core 2 duo macbook, live 6, korg poly 800 (w/ moog slayer mod), roland rs-09, rhodes mark 1A stage piano, mattel synsonics analog drum machine

anti-banausic
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:15 pm
Location: NYC

Post by anti-banausic » Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:53 pm

ejectorset wrote:those are things in live 5.

autopan is a new effect device. its like a tremolo/panner

device groups are a reusable chain of effect/instrument devices. like a preset that contains an impulse, compressor 1, eq 3 and simple delay with settings all as one "group", for example.
And device groups are only better in 6 with macros and racks. A rack is live having as many device groups in parallel on the same track, and then with macros, you can map multiple parameters to one knob and this mapping will be remembered every time you bring a rack into a track!!!!

It is going to be a huge leap if you are going from 4 to 6, which I heartily recommend.
Macbook c2d 2.0, 2G RAM, 160G HD 5400 RPM, OSX(10.5.5), XP Home, LIVE6, BCR 2000, UC33e, Yamaha P-200, Logic Studio, KRK V6 II

Frantic
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:38 am
Location: outside Boston, MA

Post by Frantic » Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:29 pm

anti-banausic wrote:A rack is live having as many device groups in parallel on the same track, and then with macros, you can map multiple parameters to one knob...
Woah, multiple parameters mapped to one knob? How do you switch between them... just switch racks or something? I'm not quite sure I'm following.

Post Reply