All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:24 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Posts: 4006
Location: Ableton Headquarter
Hi folks,

Quote:
Though its code will only use one chip, Native Instruments plugins for example would be able to share the load across both, providing better software performance. Anyone know if this is the case?

We can not yet make a statement to this issue because we have not yet tested it. But I would guess it would not work because the Plug-in calculates in the process of the host. But again, this is still speculation.

Has somebody asked Native Instruments for a statement?

regards,
Alex

_________________
alex@ableton.com
www.ableton.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:48 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 425
Location: Italy
Alex,
sorry, this is a bad question :twisted:

Is Ableton already working to implement multithreading in Live?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:00 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Posts: 4006
Location: Ableton Headquarter
Hi Dr. Zoiberg,

I can only provide a "marketing like" answer "It is on our list".
But when and how it will come I can not yet say.

regards,
Alex

_________________
alex@ableton.com
www.ableton.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:23 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 425
Location: Italy
Alex wrote:
Hi Dr. Zoiberg,

I can only provide a "marketing like" answer "It is on our list".
But when and how it will come I can not yet say.

regards,
Alex


That's enough, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:00 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:52 pm
Posts: 654
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Alex wrote:
Hi Dr. Zoiberg,

I can only provide a "marketing like" answer "It is on our list".
But when and how it will come I can not yet say.


This is good news. Last year while I was using Live 4 I was given the same answer when I asked about Plugin Delay Compensation. Now that Laptops may support dual core I would suspect Live 6 (hopefully!) will support multi-CPU. Since so many users of Live use laptops today and only 14 months ago Midi was implimented, it never really was a priority for multi-CPU support to exist until now. :P

There were some Pro Tools LE users at the Digi DUC who ran tests on single P4 vs. Dual Core, even though Pro Tools is single threaded like Live, and Pro Tools still had better CPU performance on the dual core. This was P4/3.6Ghz vs. 3.2Ghz dual core. I don't know the details of the variables unfortunately.

_________________
Accidents are the portal to discovery!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:30 am 

Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 4:43 pm
Posts: 577
Location: Boston, MA
Big respect to Ableton for having the balls to speak up on their forums when users are discussing features.

So let's pencil in the end of the year for dual processor support !

Only (half) kidding... :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group