SHOW US YOUR RACKS!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

SHOW US YOUR RACKS!

Post by forge » Sun Jul 30, 2006 1:04 am

WELL, this should probably go here rather than the beta forum....so here it is

post your wild and whacky rack concoctions! I will as soon as I have some worht sharing

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sun Jul 30, 2006 5:30 am

i'm uploading a zip to yousendit of a rhodes rack i made today.

i just sampled one of the patches from another not-to-be-named program, so it's nothing fancy, but i'm still pretty excited about having a rhodes patch inside live now, and not having to rewire every time i start up the program!

so sometime next year when this finishes uploading i'll post the link

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:00 am

nice one! 8)

C.S.
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:59 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Post by C.S. » Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:32 am

http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.php?a ... C41BF77ECC

Here's something simple.
It's a "Groove Box".

1st Rack Operator Drum Machine: 8 "pads"... simple stuff: bd, sd, perc1, perc2, chh, ohh, Efx1, Efx 2, plus an instance of impulse to allow for easier drum sequencing... you'll see what I mean. (some pads have layers, a few patches I made, some were borrowed from the Covert Operators site). Tweak to get sounds that suit you. By no means are some these patches complete.

2nd Rack Dynamics: Filter, Comp II, Saturator

3rd Rack Effects: Beat Repeat, Redux, Grain delay. I tried to do a sort of granular beat destruction thing.

Master Rack: All three of these racks are connected to the master rack which contains a utility device (for master volume control & pan control), and auto pan (for some LFO'ish beat modulating)

All the macros have been renamed some things are easy to figure out, others maybe not. No complex routing or anything, I'll leave that to the smart guys around here. I was just seeing what I could come up with. Runs between 8-10% CPU on my machine. You might have to tweak some of the settings at first to get it to sound "dry"... as I saved the rack after playing with some of the parameters.

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sun Jul 30, 2006 7:07 am

haha no fair, your file is too small. i had to pack all the samples up with mine, i think it's about 360MB. taking forEVER :wink:

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sun Jul 30, 2006 8:01 am

http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.php?a ... 0C4D3EDFCE

could probably use some tweaking. i fear i did not record the best samples - specifically the 'hard' set might be a bit distorted - at least it sounds a little funky

i expect you'll need to do the file replacement thing - just put the sounds folder somewhere close by and give it a go -

worst case replace each one manually - should be 44 samples total i think

file is 368MB

mapped some controls to the front of the rack, but you can change them around easy enough by opening it up.

krank
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:34 am

Post by krank » Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:15 pm


forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:22 pm

someone had to :roll:

:lol:

krank
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:34 am

Post by krank » Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:40 pm

forge wrote:someone had to :roll:

:lol:
Hadda b'dun.

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:13 am

inspired in another thread by mathematik, here's a drum synth I knocked up out of operators - still working on it


http://www.alexisforge.co.uk/OperatorDrumsynthRack.adg

Jeroen
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Sarawak, Malaysia

Post by Jeroen » Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:02 pm

Thats pretty impressive. Amazing that a rack of order 20 Operators works like a charm on my old Pentium (single core) 1.8GHz without Hitting serious CPUs. Nice samples on the lower keys ...

Interesting also that you can also tap each individual Operator of the rack into a new audio channnel... Maybe trivial to others ...
Life is made of stories not atoms

Jeroen
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Sarawak, Malaysia

Post by Jeroen » Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:36 pm

10 minutes job but you might still find it interesting. The twinpulse. Two impulse devices spread over two octaves. Is there a better way to acomplish this?
Do not focus on the actual samples, just a quick fill.


http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.phpac ... 6DFCB845

You can apparently receive each indiviual output from each impulse in a seperate audiorack. This means you can build a giant impulse machine, ands still have all the individual control on all samples.
Life is made of stories not atoms

Jeroen
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Sarawak, Malaysia

Post by Jeroen » Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:41 pm

http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.php?a ... 886DFCB845

Apologize trying to understand how this yousnedit works ...
Life is made of stories not atoms

tjwett
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 4:09 am
Location: MA

Post by tjwett » Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:28 am

( . )( . )

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:38 am

tjwett wrote:
( . )( . )
(((@)))
-_____-




Post Reply