Live 6.0.3 & Live 6.0.5 on Windows Vista

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Live 6.0.3 & Live 6.0.5 on Windows Vista

Post by Alex » Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:01 pm

Dear All,

The following are a few words concerning the Windows Vista
(32bit) compatibility of Live 6.0.5 & Live 6.0.3.
We have tested Live on only a few Vista systems so far so there may be other problems as well.

Therefore if you experience a bug or misbehavior on Windows Vista
which is different from the behavior on Windows XP, please let us know.



Current state of Live 6.0.5
-----------------------------

Live 6.0.5 wokrs on Windows Vista.
The only limitation is:

- The drawing of the status bar in the Splash screen does not work properly



Current state of Live 6.0.3
-----------------------------
In principle, the Live 6.0.3 works on
Windows Vista. But there are some limitations:

- Starting Live 6.0.3 will temporarily disable the AERO Glass

- The drawing of the status bar in the Splash screen does not work properly

- First time decoding an MP3 (or similar) file requires administrator rights


We are currently working to eliminate these limitations and hope to
address them within bug-fix updates as soon as possible.



Recommendation
--------------
Because of the known (and unknown) problems, our limited Vista experience,
and the current lack of Audio & MIDI drivers, we strongly recommend testing
Live and your setup before you completely switch to Windows Vista.

If you are currently using Live on Windows XP, we recommend waiting before
upgrading to Vista.



Support of native Vista features
--------------------------------
Windows Vista provides several new technologies that could be useful
for Live - for instance, a new audio I/O architecture. We are planning
to support such native Vista features within this year.



Kind Regards
/Alex
Last edited by Alex on Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:42 am, edited 3 times in total.

drez
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Post by drez » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:17 pm

Thank you very much for the update, Alex.

Also, thanks for the carrot regarding native Vista enhancements in the pipeline!
http://www.twitter.com/dreznicek
http://www.soundcloud.com/dreznicek
MacBook Pro Retina Laptop, 2.7Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM, 500G SSD, Live 9, Push, Novation SL25 Mk2, iPad (TouchOSC, Lemur, Touch-Able), Reason

peterkirn
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 5:12 pm
Location: NYC, NY
Contact:

Post by peterkirn » Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:03 pm

Thanks, Alex. We've been waiting for this one, definitely.

I'm suspicious that users may encounter other problems as side-effects of the graphics incompatibilities, not necessarily Ableton's fault. For instance, I'm still waiting on final, stable drivers from NVIDIA for their mobile cards. The moment Vista kicks into its compatibility mode, things start to go very wrong -- think regular, random Live crashes any time you do anything. Disabling Aero first seems to help; turning Aero off completely seems to trigger a different graphics mode than the hybrid-Aero that Vista launches when it senses an Aero-incompatible app.

Actually, I'd say there are quite a lot of music drivers out there for Vista. In a truly bizarre twist, the music developers are ahead of the major graphics developers.

Once this settles down, Vista may be a great OS for music -- what is running seems to be running better than on XP -- but until then, I'll STRONGLY second the "wait to upgrade" advice!

YILA
Posts: 552
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by YILA » Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:01 pm

please dont spend all your time working on live for vista!

I'm going to be on xp for a loooong time yet.
Scan i5 in the studio. Dual core Pc laptop, 13inch macbookpro,RME fireface 800,live 8.1,operator. drum machines Myspace Soundcloud Youtube Twitter

corygilbert
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 2:37 pm
Location: kyoto, japan
Contact:

Post by corygilbert » Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:07 am

as an osx i second the above. :D

Herne
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:45 am

Post by Herne » Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 pm

@Peterkirn,you are correct. Turning off desktop composition and Aero/Glass ditches the wddm, so there's no 3d acceleration of the desktop.

Just choose run as admin, Desktop comping and aero off for the live exe, and use the WHQL nvidia drivers [97.46 I think], the betas are still pants.

You can set admin controls for a whole folder, to work around the mp3 import limitation.
Live 6.10 | Vista Ultimate | Reason 3 |
Athlon 64 X2 6400 | 4GB DDR2 8000 |
Axiom 61 | BCR2000 | PadKONTROL |

vinkalmann
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by vinkalmann » Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:26 am

Just wanted to say that the Beta 6.06 release cleared up ALL my Ableton graphics issues. Thanks for getting that out so fast!!

Thinkpad t60p
ATi firegl v5200
Image
[Guide to Mixing in Arrangement View^][Guide to Warping in Ableton Live^]

peterkirn
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 5:12 pm
Location: NYC, NY
Contact:

Post by peterkirn » Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:36 am

"Wasting time on Vista"? Hey, Live is a cross-platform app. Don't expect the Windows gang would say "don't waste your time on Mac." But point taken. :)

Anyway, yes, just got a new NVIDIA build and the new Live release, and this seems to solve the major issues. I still imagine Ableton wouldn't *recommend* upgrading to Vista (nor would I), but on the other hand, no harm in setting up a second partition and starting to fiddle with it. That can often make the transition to a new OS easier ... by the time you make the jump full time, you've got everything working and tested.

adi
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:58 am
Location: tlv

Post by adi » Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:28 pm

thank you for making this announcement. i look forward to seeing what vista's improved audio stack can mean for live's performance.
Vista 64 Ultimate, Core i7 920, 12GB ram

huffcw
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:58 pm

Re: Live 6.0.3 on Windows Vista

Post by huffcw » Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:50 pm

Alex wrote: Support of native Vista features
--------------------------------
Windows Vista provides several new technologies that could be useful
for Live - for instance, a new audio I/O architecture. We are planning
to support such native Vista features within this year.



Kind Regards
/Alex
Just curious what the benefits of the new audio I/O architecture in Vista may be? Is it significant?

selthym
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:20 pm

Post by selthym » Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:27 pm

Deleted

djmyke
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Philippines

Post by djmyke » Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:19 am

corygilbert wrote:as an osx i second the above. :D

ey mate... they need to work on windows... =) hehe


osx just works =)
_________________________________________________
imac 24' aluminum 2.8ghz 4gbRAM, 320gb HD,

live 7. reason 4
maudio fwire 410 axiom 49. fcb1010
taylor 614ce
banshee talkbox

Oniels
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:05 pm

Post by Oniels » Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:05 am

Hey that's cool... I just bought a Vista, and most of my sets aren't running anymore. Sometimes I just don't get any audio at all, like the demo sets aren't working

Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Post by Alex » Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:12 am

Oniels,
Sometimes I just don't get any audio at all, like the demo sets aren't working
Could you please explain a bit more detailed what happened and what your setup is?

Regards,
/Alex

Oniels
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:05 pm

Post by Oniels » Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:48 am

I think that last thing was my mistake, I do have sound, sorry for that.
Some live sets I made

I seem to have the 'regular' vista problems, like Live reacting very slow, ore just crashing sometimes... i'm not an advanced user of Live, but I know quite good how to work with it.

Post Reply