What hardware do most DJs choose for audio interfacing

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
wovencord

What hardware do most DJs choose for audio interfacing

Post by wovencord » Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:29 pm

I am trying to find an audio interface that will allow me to cue music while other music is playing (you know, basic DJ techniques) and be able to cross fade it in afterwards using Live's crossfader.

What I want is a way to send a track to the master and an aux send so I can cue the track in the aux send without it being affected by the master crossfader. Then when I am ready I can cross fade it in, which would then let me cue the other tracks that were faded out. If this sounds confusing, I apologize. I am new to this stuff.

I basically want to use the crossfader to mute a group of tracks, while another group is playing, so I can que the first group. Therefore going back and forth like this between groups.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

kabuki

Post by kabuki » Tue Mar 23, 2004 4:58 pm

any controller with a Knob or Fader can do this. Set the DRY signal to A nad the Sends to B...
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

cosmosuave

Post by cosmosuave » Wed Mar 24, 2004 1:55 am

I'm assuming your using a laptop.... From what I have read the Echo Indigo DJ PCMCIA card is perfect for this ... 2 stereo outs one for mains one for cans... Only drawback no audio in.

smutek

Post by smutek » Thu Mar 25, 2004 5:00 am

I'm using the Maudio quattro. 2 ins and 2 outs running to a pioneer mixer.

arar

Post by arar » Thu Mar 25, 2004 5:03 pm

I use the echo indigo dj.

Rich

Post by Rich » Tue May 04, 2004 3:10 pm

Does anyone here use the M-Audio Transit? The Echo Indigo DJ is interesting, but I don't really see the need for the 8 virtual "outputs." Besides that, the Transit is 80 bucks less.